Holiday road: Bethesda Tunnel plus a few randoms in Central Park, NYC


12 10 02-Central Park NYC-2Here’s a few more shots from around Central Park. Honestly, I could spend a week there and know I’d see something different and wonderful every day – its that great. The photo taken above was shot inside the Bethesda tunnel. Since it was the middle of the day, there had been dozens of people constantly wandering through this gorgeous space so it was a bit of a challenge to capture this image. Equally, because the light was relatively low within the passage (with blown out areas at either end of the tunnel), I opted for a longer shutter speed so I could blur the passers-by and also capture the detail and colour in the walls and ceiling. The resulting image is an HDR from 3 bracketed images I took by bracing the camera against my knee. I think it came out pretty well in the end. Click on the image to see it larger and so you can see some of that sumptuous tile-work.

12 10 02-Central Park NYC-4

 

12 10 02-Central Park NYC-3 Above: A young model was practicing her catwalk moves under the tutelage of her minder inside the tunnel.

The following images are just some other random shots I took whilst on our stroll through the park.

12 10 02-Central Park NYC-6Above: That’s Leo, my youngest son.

12 10 02-Central Park NYC-5

12 10 02-Central Park NYC-7Above: Funny, I’m a bit of a sucker for the patina in tarnished copper signs… Well, maybe signs of any description really.

12 10 02-Central Park NYC-1

12 10 02-Central Park NYC-8Above: Not really sure why I liked this shot; I know its nothing special. I also can’t help but think it needs to be processed differently. I tried some split toning but kept reverting to the original. I suppose I’m a bit low on my mojo tonight. Another time perhaps.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. drawandshoot says:

    Nice to see Central Park through your keen eyes, Distan. That first image i really gorgeous.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Karen. Yep, thats the ‘hero shot’, the others were added for a bit more context. Plus, it doesn’t feel quite right for me to post just one image – ever since I started this blog I’ve always posted a series of photo’s so I always feel a bit compelled. Strange, I know.

      Like

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    I love that first image. Brilliant capture.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks so much Leanne. I was quietly happy that I was able to handhold steadily enough to grab the bracketed shots. Feels good when you can pull it off – its like a little present sometimes 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts