Loch Ard Gorge, Victoria


This past week I’ve been down at Port Fairy in Victoria in what has become an annual sojourn to the town’s folk music festival. This year, a friend offered to take me for a quick drive down the Great Ocean Road to see the Twelve Apostles which was just too good an offer to refuse. There are numerous lookouts on the way to the Apostles’ viewing site and this small set was taken at Loch Ard Gorge – part of the Port Campbell National Park. It derives its name from the clipper ship that ran ashore there in 1878 as it neared its 3 month journey from England to Melbourne killing all but 2 of the 54 who were aboard.

Unfortunately the weather was not on my side the day we went. A large weather front had moved in swiftly that afternoon and I was racing to get some quick shots before moving onto the next location (I did have a music festival to get to remember). I’ll post a few more photo’s from this little side trip in the next few days.

Canon 7D | EF 24-70L & EFS 10-22 lenses | Tripod | 9 stop ND Filter | Post: Aperture 3 – mostly saturation & highlight adjustments

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. drawandshoot says:

    You are taunting me with these glorious beach scenes Distan!
    Again, these are just stunning. For bad weather it certainly doesn’t translate that way.
    Brilliant!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thankyou Karen. I went for longer exposure times with the ND filter because it was so gloomy. I made the decision to blow out the skies so I could really capture the detail in the rocks and give the water that smooth appearance. The whole area is just so beautiful; I’d love to go back and spend some more time down there. It was a real rush that afternoon.

      Like

      1. even in a real rush you could capture the scenes beautifully. and good decision with blowing the skies, sometimes we just have to give and take 🙂

        Like

  2. Mahesh Patil says:

    Beautiful captures

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Mahesh.

      Like

  3. Mike Moruzi says:

    I’ve been there many times. Beautiful shots of a beautiful spot.

    Like

  4. Bec says:

    You must have a really nice friend! The shots are beautiful, I need a copy for my wall.

    Like

Share your thoughts