The Twelve Apostles and London Arch, Victoria


As promised, here’s a couple more shots further down the Great Ocean Road in Victoria. The shot above of the Twelve Apostles was the last stop and was also just before sunset. The unfortunate thing was that the moment I had set up the tripod (in the buffeting wind) and removed the lens cap, the heavens decided to open. Rain blew from all directions and in a matter of moments everything was saturated. Of all the locations we had visited briefly that afternoon, this was the visage I had wanted to capture with the 9 stop ND Filter. All I could manage was a quick burst of bracketed shots before racing off to take shelter from the rain. Even in those few seconds, the front lens element was literally dripping from from the rain shower. It was really quite disappointing. I processed the shots as an HDR in Photomatix and did some last minute touch-ups in Aperture – largely some selective sharpening and clean-up work of obvious rain droplets. I’m reasonably happy with the gritty, moody and overly saturated look of the final image. Your taste will probably vary, I dare say.

 

As a matter of interest, I’ve included the un-cropped, normally exposed image (left) from the 3 bracketed shots so you can get a feel for where the image started, straight-out-of-camera and RAW.

 

 

The second shot (below) was taken a little earlier that afternoon. Its of ‘London Arch’ so named because of the natural arch formation you can plainly see. It had been a double arch formation, however, it collapsed unexpectedly in 1990 and left 2 tourists stranded on the outer part until they were rescued. Im told that the stranded couple were actually lovers, the man getting caught in his affair after being all over the evening news as they were picked-up by helicopter.

Canon 7D | EF 24-70L | Tripod | Hoya ND 400 Filter | 15 sec exposure @ f11 | ISO 100

Above: London Arch. The water really was that turquoise green, however, in over-saturating this image I’ve made the ocean probably a bit too blue. Still, in my minds eye, this is how I remember the scene.

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. xandimusic says:

    very nice photos, like them!!
    peace
    xandi

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Xandi, much appreciated.

      Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    They are like dreamscapes Distan.

    Who wouldn’t want to be wandering on these beaches, feeling the wet sand under their toes and the salt air on their tongue…?

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Ahh Karen, you’re such a poet! But yes, you’re absolutely right. This stretch of coastline is just so majestic and awe inspiring its something to behold. Its a very humbling experience; but one that is so beautiful too.

      Like

  3. Mike Moruzi says:

    I’ve also been caught here in the rain, but it’s still one of my favourite places to visit and to shoot in Victoria. A few years back, I did some pre-dawn long exposures in this exact spot (http://insearchofstyle.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/day-103-shooting-in-the-dar/). That was before the foreground ‘apostle’ crumbled. I like the idea of using a big ND filter to do this during the day. That would save a lot of trouble (and sleep!). When I shot this, the only thing I could see was the light from the camera of the guy beside me!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh Mike, your image is fabulous. I’m so cranky that the weather was against me by the time we reached the Apostles. You’ve captured an image that I was hoping to get if not for the rain. Plus, your post processing is wonderful.
      I can certainly attest to the 9 stop Hoya ND filter (I didn’t want to stump up for the Lee Big Stopper at the time). Its a little more comforting knowing that if Im late to a sunrise that all is not lost. I’ve always found it hard to set out in the pitch black and set-up under torch light. Perhaps Im just getting lazy in my old age : )

      Like

  4. Leanne Cole says:

    I really must make an effort to go down there with my camera.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh you must. They’ve been shot so many times they’re like an old friend, but seeing them without the boundaries of a frame is just awesome. They’re something else indeed.

      Like

Share your thoughts

