Portrait session: Samara


distanbach-Samara-2

It was a cold and wintery afternoon a few weeks ago when I met up with Samara to do a quick portrait session. We only had an hour before sunset, which is the perfect time for photo’s, but the sun drops quickly once its over the horizon.

This was the first time Samara had been shot in a portrait session and she was amazing! Gorgeous and radiant, her early nerves fell away as she warmed up and we moved from location to location.

I couldn’t really settle on a particular way to post-process these images. So rather than force a certain colour toning on all the shots, I decided to take my cues from the location and feel of the image and colour grade them accordingly.

Anyway, have a look and tell me what you like. I’d love to hear from you.

Canon 5DMIII | EF 24-70 f2.8L & EF 50 f1.2L | Post: Lightroom 5 & Exposure 7 

distanbach-Samara-4

distanbach-Samara-1

distanbach-Samara-3

distanbach-Samara-5

distanbach-Samara-6

distanbach-Samara-7

distanbach-Samara-8

distanbach-Samara-9

distanbach-Samara-10

distanbach-Samara-11

Full Screen Gallery ViewER:

As usual, if you’d prefer to view the images in the full screen gallery viewer, select one below and flick through:

4 Comments Add yours

  1. The third from the top… Portrait photography a very difficult art to master

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Javier; did you mean the photo where Samara is looking towards the right; warm/orange sunset tones?
      If so, that’s interesting because it was the photo I almost culled. I decided not to because I don’t think I’m a very good judge of my own work. And that’s also why I posted as many as I did…
      Oh, and yes, portrait photography is really hard. I’ve been trying to learn how to speak to clients from behind the camera; to find the words so I can direct them into poses. It’s quite difficult and a steep learning curve.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It always amazes me others appreciating what seems less important to me.

        Like

  2. paula graham says:

    With a glorious model like Samara, your eye..what could go wrong!! xx

    Like

Share your thoughts

