Event: Sculpture by the Sea 2014


distanbach-Sculptures by the sea-33 Banner

This years Sculpture by the Sea exhibition wrapped up last Sunday and, thankfully, I managed to make it down there with a day to spare.

Traversing Sydney’s coastline from Tamarama to Bondi beach, the event has grown in popularity with each passing year. In fact, its gotten so popular that I found it quite difficult to find a parking spot around Tamarama at 5.30am! Frustratingly, by the time I parked the car, I had missed the 5.50am sunrise! Grrrrrr. 😦 It’s hard to stay cranky for too long though – the crashing waves, fresh air and soft sand coupled with the suns warming rays and the array of spectacular sculptures make any early morning annoyances fade quickly.

On the whole, I enjoyed this years selection of installations although I didn’t feel it was its strongest year – well, to my aesthetic anyway. Even so, it was certainly worth the early morning trip.

And, I have to say, I do enjoy that beachside coffee before heading home to start the (rest of the) day. 😉

Oh, and if you’re curious about previous years or would just like to revisit those posts, you can jump to them quickly in the links below:

Canon 5DMIII | EF 24-70 f2.8L | Handheld | Post: Lightroom 5

distanbach-Sculptures by the sea-1

distanbach-Sculptures by the sea-2

distanbach-Sculptures by the sea-27

distanbach-Sculptures by the sea-28

Check out more sculptures in the full gallery below:

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. paula graham says:

    Amazing place and interesting photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Paula, it’s an amazing backdrop for an exhibition. Plus, you get the secondary gain of a bit of exercise as you peruse the sculptures along the 2 km walk from Tamara to Bondi.

      Like

  2. ashokbhatia says:

    Thanks for posting this!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      My pleasure and thanks for stopping by and commenting too. Much appreciated.

      Like

  3. Très bon poste! Merci 🙂

    Like

  4. Elizabeth Gurnett says:

    Beautiful, missed it again this year, thanks for sharing, i enjoy looking at your work

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you for the kind words, Elizabeth. I have to say I almost missed this year too. Life can get so busy sometimes but I was so glad I managed to get down there in the end.

      Like

  5. Great sculptures. I wish we had one of those down here!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      I know what you mean Roberto. When I see other peoples’ blog posts about events near where they live I confess to getting a bit envious too. One that springs to mind is Burning Man in the US. One day, I hope…

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

