Bruges, Belgium; and the trouble with taking photo’s through a tourists’ eyes


distanbach-Bruges-5

I know, I know! I can’t believe its been 3 and a half weeks since my last post. Rather shamefully, I’ve been sitting and stewing on my images from Bruges because I’ve been at a loss as to what to share. It’s not that they’re terrible photo’s, I just kind of feel that they’re not particularly great either. So, I’ve been pondering; why my hesitation in posting my photo’s of Bruge?

What’s the problem?

  • I certainly know its not because of the subject – Bruges is just gorgeous. A gothic fairytale wonderland that some have referred to as the Venice of the north.
  • It’s not because of the thousands of other tourists crawling all over the town from morning to dusk (though they do make it a little difficult to capture some scenes sometimes). What am I complaining about… I’m one of those tourists!

Hmmm, here’s the problem

I think what it is is my composition. And why is that? Because I was experiencing it through tourists eyes:

  • Too many shots taken with the camera at eye level (rookie mistake);
  • Too many shots of buildings or clichéd scenes (yawn, no new perspective to make it visually interesting);
  • Too many shots in flat midday light (angular light provides dimension and definition and the colour temperature is much more beautiful at sunrise and sunset).

I was photographing the town in a ‘happy snap’ way just as you do when you’re a tourist! Shooting what I was seeing rather than concentrating and maximising an opportunity through composition and care.

For now, I’ll just have to remember this for my next trip. Learn from my experience, you’ll be much happier with your photo’s, Im sure.

Canon 5D MkIII | EF 24-70 f2.8L | Handheld | Post: Lightroom 5

distanbach-Bruges-9 distanbach-Bruges-11 distanbach-Bruges-3 distanbach-Bruges-4 distanbach-Bruges-12 distanbach-Bruges-7 distanbach-Bruges-6distanbach-Bruges-8 distanbach-Bruges-2 distanbach-Bruges-10 See you next time 🙂

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. paula graham says:

    Interesting post..I shall try and learn from it and looking forward to your follow up on looking at things differently…I try my hardest, but find it difficult .

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you, Paula. I’m sure you’ll be just fine, you’re black and white imagery is great. Thanks for visiting too.

      Like

Share your thoughts

