An evening in Bruges and a whirlwind 6 weeks!


distanbach-bruges evening-1

Wow, the past 6 weeks have been an incredible ride! Here’s some brief highlights (that also account for the recent poverty of posts);

  1. About 2 months ago I was contacted by Apple asking if they could use an image I took of climbers on the face of El Capitan in Yosemite, USA.
  2. 6 weeks ago, that image and this blog-site was used in a demonstration of a new feature in their upcoming operating system update (OSX Yosemite) during their annual World Wide Developers Conference.
  3. That spot and this site got re-tweeted dozens of times following the small feature. One of the tweets came from Mr WordPress himself, Matt Mullenweg.
  4. Freshly Pressed on WordPress a week later.

In respect to my day-job, that’s also been busy…

  • I’ve been seconded for 6 months to a new role as an instructional designer and had a couple of projects that have been going gang-busters.
  • 4 weeks ago, I flew out to Amsterdam to present at an International Nurse Education Conference in the Netherlands (and felt very jet-set in doing so). Don’t get too envious; I work in public health so the trip had to be self-funded.
  • Took the opportunity to make a side-trip to Belgium and visit the beautiful city of Bruges – hence, the reason for this post!

I can tell you that I’ve felt really chuffed with these little acknowledgments; and humbled by the interest too.

Anyway, enough with the borderline hubris. What I’m left with now is a backlog of photo’s that I need to sort, edit and determine whether they are worth sharing. For this post, I thought I’d start with these shots I took on the first evening after arriving in the gorgeous town of Bruges, Belgium. I’ll talk more about this pretty gothic city in a subsequent post because this is already too long.

Canon 5D Mark III | EF 24-70L f2.8 | Handheld and Tripod (later in evening) | Post: Lightroom 5 and Photomatix for HDR shots

distanbach-bruges evening-2

Above: The two shots featured above are HDR images (3 bracketed exposures and processed in Photomatix). Both were taken handheld near Begijnhof (from memory).

distanbach-bruges evening-3

Below: All these shots were taken around what’s known as the postcard Canal View along the Dijver canal. The final shot in this set is the quintessential postcard view of Bruges. You can appreciate why this town is sometimes considered the Venice of the north.distanbach-bruges evening-4 distanbach-bruges evening-5 distanbach-bruges evening-6

Above: Notice the blurred image of the gentleman in the left side of the frame. He was also taking photo’s with his big Nikon and tripod when he tripped on curb side. Poor fellow cracked his temple on the canal wall and sustained a nasty little cut/abrasion which quickly developed into egg. He didn’t speak much english but I assisted him as well as I could. Luckily he was able to save his camera during the fall and we shared a smile over this good fortune.

distanbach-bruges evening-8 distanbach-bruges evening-7Above: Postcard view of Bruges.

Big shout out to all the recent followers of this little blog. Many thanks for your interest guys.

PS. For those that prefer the gallery view to see the photo’s, click on an image brow to open up the carousel browser.

 

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. V-Light says:

    Wow 😀 Big congrats for all the achievements Distan! I’m sure that’s only the beginning and a lot more will come! 😀 Very happy for you!
    Also, a lovely set of photos! It’s a really beautiful place 😀 That poor photographer was lucky…it would be a nightmare to see his camera flying into the water…

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks heaps, Alex. Yep, that photog was really lucky; not so much from the camera going into the canal but from smashing it to pieces on the edge of the canal wall and then pavement. Poor bugger was really dazed when it first happened – he really cracked his head. I have to say I was surprised no one else came over to check on him when it happened. I thought that was a little disappointing really considering there were a lot of people around.

      Like

      1. V-Light says:

        It is sad, when people just ignore someone who might need their help…He was lucky then that you were close and that nothing worse happened to him 🙂

        Like

  2. Beautiful work…….

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you so much; much appreciated.

      Like

  3. Mike says:

    Congratulations, Distan. Does this mean we’ll be seeing some of your photos in OS X Yosemite?

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh thanks very much, Mike. Unfortunately no, no photo’s in OSX Yosemite. I can say now that I did get short-listed a couple of years ago but didn’t make the final cut. When I first got an email from Apple I almost deleted it thinking it was spam. Luckily I scrolled through the whole message and saw a few of my blog images attached to the bottom of the email. They had asked whether I might consider a 5 year exclusive, worldwide license that would be installed on all machines running OSX or iOS. I was gob-smacked, supremely excited, humbled and apprehensive all at once. I had no idea how much to quote. After talking to a friend of mine who is a pro-photog, I had a reasonable idea (~2K). Fortunately the Apple guys were really helpful too. Long story short though, I didn’t make it through their final review rounds. Despite this, I was delighted to have even been noticed, let alone have had the question asked of me. I’ve been an Apple devotee since 1982 – through the dark days; through Steve Jobs return, right up until now. So, for me at least, it was big-deal.
      Fast forward to 3 months ago and I was contacted again for the use of the El Capitan photo for vague ‘demonstration’ purposes. Then to see this blog, and my photo used during the WWDC Keynote was surreal. It was one of my most private and proud moments.

      Like

      1. Mike says:

        Wow – that’s really exciting, and well deserved. Yes, although I once earned my living writing software for Windows (cough!), I’ve been an Apple user at home since I first found an Apple IIe in a lab at school. I’m excited to see what is in store with the new Photos app, as I use Aperture at the moment.

        Like

        1. Distan Bach says:

          The Apple IIe with the machine my father bought and I have many fond memories of it. After a numbers of years using Aperture, I hesitantly migrated over to Lightroom. It really is great for editing photos but the keyboard shortcuts drive me nuts and I really miss Apertures library management. We’ll see about the new Photos app; here’s hoping….

          Like

  4. Amazing photos of Brugge, Distan. The light is really impressive. I try to get pictures in the evening because I like that kind of light. Congratulations on you achievements and work!
    Greetings from Argentina
    Roberto

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Really kind of you say, Roberto. I’m sorry for taking so long to reply as well. Brugge just turns into a little jewellery box at night when all the lights come on. It was gorgeous. I always take my tripod when I go away on trips in the hope that I can do some night shots and Brugge certainly delivered.
      Thanks again for your kind words and taking the time to leave a comment. Much appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for your reply Distan. I will try to take my tripod on my night go-outs too. Hope you like my blog and my visits.
        Roberto

        Like

        1. Distan Bach says:

          I had a quick look, Roberto. You’ve got some wonderful images there. I look forward to checking out more of your posts.

          Like

  5. bazamba says:

    Mirror images on still pond-streams stand in contrast- brilliant with muted

    Like

Share your thoughts

