Random Black and White shots around Cambridge, UK


Cambridge-9

These are a few randoms from my recent visit to Cambridge. I’ve tried my hand at a little black and white post-processing which I still find quite challenging. My favourite shot is the one above of the couple embracing down the lane way.

Now, back to tinkering with my new self-hosted website which will focus more on my portrait work. I hope to show you what I’ve been working on soon!

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L & EFS 10-22 | Handheld | Post: Lightroom 5

Cambridge-12

Cambridge-11

 

Cambridge bound-1Above (and below): Not strictly in Cambridge; in fact its London, just before boarding the train. I added quite a bit of grain to this image to simulate the film look. The photo wasn’t tack sharp so I felt this treatment just complimented the tone of this scene.

 

Cambridge bound-2

Cambridge-10Above: Sunset spire ( just to finish on a bit of colour 😉 ).

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Merilee says:

    Oh, these are LOVELY!!!!!!!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh thank you very much, Merilee. That’s very kind of you. Your B&W is superb and so inspiring.

      Like

      1. Merilee says:

        Thank you! And these are just creamy, dreamy and yummy. Elegant…

        Like

  2. Nikitaland says:

    Oh Distan, I love them all! I am a huge fan of black and white photography! Keep up the fantastic work! You are my favorite photographer!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh, that’s so nice, Valerie. Thank you very much indeed.

      Like

  3. Beautiful b&w shots, really like the 1st and 3rd images.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you, Beth, much appreciated. My favs were one and four.

      Like

  4. V-Light says:

    Lovely shots, Distan 🙂 Really moody and wonderful!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers, Alex. Too kind. Your comment reminds me of the importance of trying to stimulate an emotional response in image making. I lose sight of this sometimes so thank you. Something else to work on in the future.

      Like

  5. What an absolute feast for the eye a real treat Distan as I know Cambridge so well from my Uni days. The black and white really adds a sense of mystery and beauty to an already wonderful city of such great architecture.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you, James. It was such a beautiful city and a terrible shame that I was there for only a couple of days (most of which was spent at the conference too). I so wanted to follow-up on your visitor suggestions but time was against me. I guess I’ll just have to look forward to the next time I get a chance to visit.

      Like

  6. Trifocal says:

    I do like these, especially the first one. Thank you for posting them 🙂

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      That’s very kind of you; much appreciated.

      Like

Share your thoughts

