Event: Sculptures by the Sea 2013


2013 Sculptures by the Sea-7

Well, its that time of year again. Sculpture by the Sea is now into its 17th year and is still going strong. I thought I’d try and visit early this morning as the forecast was for a hot 33C (91F) and sunrise was going to be 5.53am.

I suppose its a measure of the events success, but it was practical impossible to find a parking spot (even at 5.40am) near Tamarama or Bondi beach. A little frustratingly, I had to park near Bronte and walk around the point. Its not far but when you’re wanting to position yourself to take advantage of the sunrise, its a problem. No matter; it was just as enjoyable to watch the sun crest the horizon and wander along the coast walk and admire this years sculptures.

I’ve taken a few snaps of the installations so I could share with you. Oh, and if you’re in the neighbourhood and you haven’t seen them yet, you better hurry up – the event ends on November 10th. For more information, check out their website here: Sculpture by the Sea.

Update (12pm): I’ve updated the gallery below with the titles of each sculpture and the artists’ now too. If I’ve missed any (or if someone has a catalogue), leave a comment and I’ll add it in.

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L | Handheld | Post: Lightroom

15 Comments Add yours

  1. My most favorite events in Sydney…thank you for sharing as I’m missing it this year…

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      I really love the event too; along with Vivid Sydney, its definitely a favourite. I think it’s such a great idea to have an art exhibition that lines the coastline which is both gorgeous and free.

      Like

      1. Oh yes, love vivid Sydney as well, I used to live in McMahon’s point so enjoyed the view of Sydney harbor and Opera house especially when it’s light up during Vivid Sydney…Sydney and/or Australia is such a generous place it offers not only such great events but gorgeous nature-made art for free, always. : ) I look forward to seeing my second home town through your lens, Cheers! M

        Like

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    Wow, how popular is it? I have never seen this, but I have heard of it, I even tried entering it one year, many years ago. Great images Distan, you brought out the art work.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      It’s become incredibly popular over the last few years. I couldn’t find any recent official stats aside from 25,000 people coming in its inaugural year (1997). I would guess its easily 10 times that number now. Its always crowded, but this doesn’t seem to be a big deal at all. This year there over 100 different artists on display – local and international. Maybe you should try and enter again next year, Leanne?

      Like

      1. Leanne Cole says:

        NIce idea, but I have stopped doing sculptures now, that is unbelievable the number of people, I must get up there one year and take a look at it myself.

        Like

  3. ndesenberg says:

    As usual, fantastic work!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you so much. Very appreciated.

      Like

  4. Ankur Sharma says:

    Fantastic pictures, Distan!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      That’s very kind, Ankur. Thank you so much.

      Like

  5. drawandshoot says:

    Beautiful work by both you and the artists!
    The early morning light truly shows them at their best, it seems. That’s a lot of work for a temporary exhibit! Some of the work is extraordinary.
    I like that you included a ‘selfie’. : )
    Inspiring!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Karen. From memory, the exhibit used to be shorter (around 10 days I think). With the increasing popularity its lengthened to just over 2 weeks thankfully. I still feel it should go for longer because its just so much work for the artists and obviously the team that installs them too. Some would be very difficult and awkward to get into place.

      Like

  6. How spectacular is this???? Wow! Beam me over Scottie I would so love to see these in actuality. Each sculpture seems to befit the setting. Thanks for sharing Distan and have a great weekend

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Yep, every year I’m just so impressed with the sculptures. The fact that they’re displayed against this fantastic backdrop just 10 minutes from the city reminds me how lucky we are sometimes. Much appreciated, James.

      Like

Share your thoughts

