Gloucester Road Station, Portobello Road Markets and Buckingham Palace, UK


Gloucester Rd Station

I’ve been so busy since being back at work that this will just be a ‘quickie’ post because its late and I really should be in bed.

These are a few snaps I took whilst walking around London prior to my conference in Cambridge. As you can see, I hopped on a train at Gloucester Road station so I could begin my day at the Portobello Markets. Unfortunately, I arrived there a little early so many of the stall holders were still setting up. I guess the upside to this was that there weren’t many people about so it was a comfortable, crowdless  stroll. From here, my wanderings took me through Hyde Park, the Serpentine and on to Buckingham Palace. Got to say, it was a great way to spend a warm, sun filled Sunday morning in central London.

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L & EFS 10-22 | Handheld | Post: Lightroom 5

12 Comments Add yours

  1. That first shot took my breath away!!!! That is fantastic!!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      That’s so nice, Xandré. Thanks very much. You just put a smile in my face :-).

      Like

  2. Love the Buckingham Palace gates, great shot!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks for that. The wide angle lens and backlight from the sun worked really well for that shot. Appreciate you taking the time to comment too. Cheers!

      Like

  3. drawandshoot says:

    Beautiful compositions as always, Distan.
    Love the surprise of the last one.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers, Karen. I was in two minds about posting these because I didn’t think they were terribly special. A mix of memory snaps, people and architecture, when I look back on them it reminds me that I should of been a bit more thoughtful when pressing the shutter button. It’s funny, whenever I’m out strolling with the camera during the day I try to channel a ‘street photographer’ mentality. When a moment arises I’m always hoping that I might grab the right frame and more often than not I fall short. The good street photographers as just so impressive. Do you ever feel that when dabbling in other genres?

      Like

      1. drawandshoot says:

        I completely know what you mean about stepping out of your genre. Street photography is something I’ve done very little of. Partially because for me photography is a mostly solitary pursuit and I feel very exposed working in public.
        Having said that, I have an ongoing contract for several architectural photographs so I am learning to stretch my small photographic world a little, and I like that challenge.

        Like

  4. V-Light says:

    These are some really nice shots 🙂 Kinda miss not being able to walk around in London…Even though i was there for only a week.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you, Alexandra. I know what you mean about missing London. Every time I’ve visited (only 3 days on this occasion) I’ve left with a lingering desire to come back and keep exploring. Thanks for visiting and commenting here too; I’m sorry for forgetting to reply to you when you first posted. Much appreciated.

      Like

  5. Great images Distan and the image of Gloucester Road Station with train, absolutely superb, lighting, exposure and composition.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks heaps, James; that’s so kind of you. I kinda liked the Gloucester Station with moving train shot too. It didn’t quite come out as I’d hoped, but it was pretty close. The sign needed a little massaging in post to make it stand out more.

      Like

Share your thoughts

