Holiday road: Banff – Lake Minnewanka


Banff-Lake Minnewanka-1Ever felt like you’re behind the eight-ball and struggling to get ahead? Yep? Well that’s how I’ve felt for most of this year. My time has been pulled every-which-way and unfortunately, I fear,  this little blog has suffered a bit. Don’t get me wrong, its not been all bad; I’ve been working on some really exciting things too. It’s just…well, you know… Blog guilt!

So, to all those inspiring bloggers who I’ve been following over the past 18 months and to everyone who has visited here and/or left me a comment pretty much anytime this year; my apologies – I hope to catch up with you all really soon. Okay, enough whimpering.

For today’s post, I’m going to share some more photo’s from our holiday late last year (seem’s like a lifetime away now). I never did finish editing them and this week was as good as any to spend a bit of time cleaning them up. This quick series came from around Lake Minnewanka in Banff, Canada. It was late afternoon when we were there and I had been hoping that we might see some of the local wild-life. Luckily, our wishes came true when we came across some wild elk. I love it when things work out 🙂

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L & EF 70-200L | Handheld | Post: Lightroom 4

Click on an image below to take a closer look at this set.

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Great photos!!! & so fitting in light of the Calgary/Banff area floodings!!! Mother Nature sure is something!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you, Xandré. Wow, I did not know that the Banff / Canmore regions were being inundated with torrential rain and floods! We hadn’t heard anything about that in Sydney. I just did a quick search and saw how devastating the rains have been! Just watched a few quick clips on YouTube too. I do hope things settle down there soon and that the residents find safety and support. It was such a beautiful place to visit and to see the damage is overwhelming. My heart goes out to everyone who might be affected by this event.

      Like

  2. What a beautiful landscape, Distan. It reminds me a bit of the Pacific Northwest, which we explored a bit last summer, spotting some similar elk. I’m also overdue with those pictures. 🙂

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you Tricia, much appreciated. The photo editing can get a bit overwhelming at times if we leave it too long can’t it? 😉
      Thanks for stopping by again too. Hope you’ve been well.

      Like

  3. Jane Lurie says:

    Gorgeous set. Hope to get there sometime. We were in the Pacific NW this summer so maybe next year.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Too kind, Jane. After many years of not travelling (kids, mortgage, renovations, life…) it was terrific to get away on a holiday. The upshot is that I’ve got the travel bug again!
      The light on the horizon is that my wife and I will be heading over to Cambridge in the UK in a couple of months (I have to present a conference paper). Can’t wait to soak in some more sights; wherever they may be.

      Like

      1. Jane Lurie says:

        Wonderful! Have a great time.

        Like

      2. Mike says:

        Your pictures bring back our memories of the Rockies – such a beautiful place. We have friends in Calgary, and they have had to evacuate because of the floods. I hope they recover soon. I fear this may be a sign of things to come with climate change.
        Enjoy Cambridge – it is my birthplace. The area around the University is really beautiful. Take your wife punting on the Cam 🙂

        Like

  4. Wonderful Images Distan and in the light of the flooding it really brings home the beauty of mother nature as well as how at times she needs to regulate this earth.

    Like

  5. I hope you enjoy Cambridge as it is memorable. If you get the chance check out Kettles Yard, a hidden gem of a museum/gallery in the home of Jim Ede with a terrific collection of Ben Nicholson work. http://www.kettlesyard.co.uk/index.php

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks for the heads-up James. I’m getting exciting now and will hopefully add your suggestion to the itinerary. Sounds great.

      Like

  6. Very nice series. They say that a great photo makes you want to visit the place pictured, your photos definitely make me want to visit Banff.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Too kind, Mark. And yes, you must visit Banff at least once in your life. Add another place to your bucket list 🙂

      Like

  7. kerryl29 says:

    Very, very nice. You’ve really demonstrated your photographic versatility with this set of images.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks so much for your generous words. Much appreciated.

      Like

Share your thoughts

