Event: Vivid Sydney Light Festival


Vivid 2013-2

The Vivid Light Festival has started again and I can’t believe how quickly times flies. Now in its 5th year, the Vivid festival runs for almost 3 weeks in and around the Opera House, CBD and Darling Harbour precincts.

A couple of nights ago, we all headed down to check out some of the sights around Circular Quay. Naturally, I took the camera down but promised not to hold everyone up taking copious amounts of photo’s. I’m hoping to get back down there by myself to take some more images of the many installations in the coming days.

Happy Friday everyone!

For info about Vivid Sydney, you can check out their website here: Vivid Sydney Light Festival.

Click on an image below to see the slideshow.

Canon 7D | EFS 10-22 & EF 24-105L | Handheld & Tripod | Post: Lightroom 4.0

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Great shots! I like how you included the people interacting with the displays. There was a similar event here in Singapore last year and I know capturing the lights can be quite challenging so job well done here!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you very much, Vincent. Sydney’s Vivid festival has been growing each year and I’m always amazed with what people come up with. The Opera House is such a wonderful canvas to project onto and the surrounding light installations are often interactive and quite beautiful. It can be funny to watch people as they engage with the art works – their expressions are often a mix of curiosity, joy and playfulness.

      Like

  2. First reaction… Goodness Me! this seems like an amazing event and your images have captured the event awesomely (if such a word exists). I particularly love the image of the bridge with its dramatic lines drawing you into the lights of the opposite shoreline.
    Once again …terrific. I hope you have a great week Distan..

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks very much, James. I see what you mean by the Harbour bridge lights; it wasn’t something I particularly noticed when I took the shot. Personally, I’m always a bit of a sucker for the Opera House display and this years show was great I thought.
      Appreciate you commenting again, James and apologies for the delay in replying to you. I’m very thankful for the support.

      Like

      1. You are more than welcome Distan and have a great weekend

        Like

  3. drawandshoot says:

    Beautiful set, Distan. I am always very impressed with the clarity of your photos under any lighting circumstances.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Too kind, Karen. I tend to bemoan the limitations of my camera when working with high ISOs. Thankfully Lightrooms noise removal function is quite good. Doesn’t stop my lusting after the 5D Mark III 😉

      Like

  4. dziesio says:

    Wow, what an amazing, plentiful of colours, event! Your photos do great job of letting me feel like I was there! I wish I was more into photography when visiting Sydney few years ago.. Loved the place!

    Have you considered setting the shutter speed longer (Opera’s photos) to smooth the water even more ?

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks very much for the nice comments. The Vivid festival is a terrific event that has become quite a highlight on the city’s calendar. The Opera House is always such a stunning backdrop to the light shows the put on every year. I’d love to use a longer shutter speed for those shots too but it’s a challenge since the images are constantly changing. You often need a bit of luck in order to capture the light projection at the right time. If the shutter is open too long then the light show becomes too blurred and get potentially overexposed. I absolutely know what you mean about the smooth water though… Maybe I could do it post processing if I was so inclined.
      Thanks for visiting too; I really appreciate it.

      Like

Share your thoughts

