Holiday road: Lake Moraine, Banff National Park, Canada


Moraine Lake-5Where has March gone? Between work and photo assignments, I’ve barely had time to scratch myself. As they say; when it rain’s, it pours!

Enough of the whinge. Today’s post sees a return to some of the snaps I took when were on holidays in Canada a few months ago. These photo’s are from Lake Moraine which is about a 15 minute drive from Lake Louise in Banff National Park. Its another glacial lake which you can see by the colour of the water. We visited here after spending the morning at Lake Louise and you can see the sun is pretty high in the sky. Most of you would know that this is the least appealing light to shoot landscape shots in, but when you’re traveling you don’t get much choice – especially when you have the family in tow.

For me, Lake Moraine is yet another stunning example of what treasures lie in the Rockies. It’s also  another place I’ll be adding to my list of locations I’d like to visit again – next time, at sunset.

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L & EFS 10-22 | Handheld | Post: Lightroom 4Moraine Lake-9Above: Lake Moraine. Taken from the atop a large rocky hill which borders the lake.

Moraine Lake-7

Moraine Lake-4Above: A little squirrel or chipmunk, I think. This little fella had been dancing around the rocks scavenging food from a couple who were enjoying a little lunch on the foreshore.

Moraine Lake-3

Moraine Lake-8

Moraine Lake-6Above: Yep, there’s the fam.

Moraine Lake-2

Moraine Lake-1

Moraine Lake-10Above: This enormous pile of logs were scattered at the base of that rocky hill which I took the second photo in this post from. It seems they get washed down stream and get caught here…

Moraine Lake-11Above: This is not Lake Moraine. In fact I’m not really sure what or where it was. On the drive back into Banff village we saw this vista and just decided to pull over for this quick snap. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    That area was our favourite on our Canadian trip. I feel quite nostalgic, and may have to dig some of mine out!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh, that whole area is just so gorgeous. We absolutely loved it and it was definitely the highlight of the trip for my wife and I.
      I’d love to see some of your shots too Mike if you were able to locate them. So beautiful.

      Like

  2. Distan, this is a great insight into this wonderful landscape. I hope you and the family had a great Easter..regards, James

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks so much, James. Hope you and your furry friend had a great Easter too :-).
      Easter for me is one of my favourite times of the year. Heading into autumn, cool nights, crisp mornings. I love it.

      Like

      1. Yes thank you we did. It was rather quiet but I managed to do some photo editing while devouring a wonderful egg.

        Like

  3. drawandshoot says:

    The light might be harsh but you have made absolutely stunning images all the same. So beautiful! I might get there this summer…

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      I hope you do, Karen. Take your time too. I wish we’d had another week to visit other places but we had to head out to Vancouver for the final leg of trip.

      Like

  4. Paula Turner says:

    Came across your blog due to Leanne Cole featuring you on her blog. I have a special place in my heart for Moraine Lake as my husband was working on a project there when I first met him 32 years ago. It is truly one of the most beautiful places in Canada – and the world really. I hope you were able to see much of Alberta on that trip – it truly is a stunning province. Gorgeous photos

    Like

Share your thoughts

