Holiday road: Street scenes, NYC


12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-1 I think this will be the last post that features photo’s I took recently in New York. Rather than show you the usual tourist haunts, I thought I’d take this opportunity to highlight some random shots taken around the streets of the Big Apple. You’ll see that I’ve experimented with my post-processing in a few of these images. Some have worked better than others too, no doubt… I don’t know, its late and really need to get to bed; you be the judge 🙂

Canon 7D | EFS 10-22 & EF 24-105L | Program: Aperture priority | Handheld | Post: Lightroom and Photoshop

12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-2

12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-5

12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-3

12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-4

12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-6Above: Window and fire-escape. Cross processing and image border added in post.

12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-7

12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-8Above: On the ferry ride out to the Statue of Liberty I saw this weary sugar mill along the foreshore. I’ve added the light-leak and grain during post-processing.

12 10 01 NYC Street scenes-9Above: I really quite like this one. After another big day of pounding the sidewalks, we ventured into this little hole-in-the-wall pizza joint… you know the sort – formica tables, poster/flyer laden walls. Kinda cool. I saw this couple walk in and order some take-away – click! Gotcha ;-). Again, cross-processing, desaturation, film grain and image border all added in post.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. drawandshoot says:

    Great series, Distan. I like the post processing you’ve done – visual stories…

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks again, Karen. I feel sometimes I don’t do enough practice with colour grading or cross-processing of my images. Particularly when I see some other peoples work and their images seem all the more interesting when done well. At other times, I think it gets overused and can cheapen images by making them look like a camera phone photo with an Instagram type filter applied (not that that’s bad; just common).

      Like

  2. A real visual feast with your distinct viewpoint. Love it!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks very much, James. I’m pleased that they’ve provided a little joy.

      Like

  3. Leanne Cole says:

    Some great shots Distan, Macy’s looks really cool, love buildings with detail like that.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Leanne, I quite like the first photo – mostly for their choice of type-face for the vertical ‘Macy’s’. It has an art-deco quality which compliments so many buildings in New York. It’s such a gorgeous city to wander around – endless inspiration.

      Like

  4. Mike Moruzi says:

    I love that last shot!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Mike. The last shot was my excuse for this post :-). I knew when I took how it would be processed and happily, it turned out as I hoped. I just needed to do some others so I could put up a series for a blog post 😉

      Like

  5. janina says:

    Yeh, the last pic is my fave too! Though the old sugar mill has an appeal to it.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you, Janina, too kind.

      Like

  6. A great post and I really love the black and white ones !

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Too kind, Jocelyne. Thank you very much.

      Like

  7. Reblogged this on Linderman Family Genealogy and commented:
    Lovely pics! My Maternal Ancestors, the Lindermans, Hammells, Redners, and the McLeans were in New York.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you again, Sally. I really loved New York; like most, I’d love to go back and soak in some more of the sights at NY vibe. It’s really terrific that you know so much about your heritage too and have such an interest in genealogy. History can be so fascinating; on so many levels.

      Like

Share your thoughts

