Holiday Road: Times Square after the rain, New York


12 10 03 Times Square NYC-2Now, with new years celebrations receding, I hope you don’t mind but I’m going to share a few more posts from our recent holiday. This selection was shot around Times Square. A lot of people don’t like it here because it’s too touristy. Personally, I just loved it! The energy and activity is fantastic! I walked up there many times over the eight days we stayed in New York (we were about 4 blocks away). I think these shots turned out better than others I had taken because it had been raining earlier that evening. Gotta love those puddles…

12 10 03 Times Square NYC-4

12 10 03 Times Square NYC-3

12 10 03 Times Square NYC-5

And now; some that aren’t so colourful…

12 10 03 Times Square NYC-1

12 10 03 Times Square NYC-7Above: Busy workers at midnight. This image has had quite a bit of work done to it: cross processed, film grain added, polaroid roller scratches, bit of dodging and burning etc. Even with all that, it still looks pretty close to the original…

12 10 03 Times Square NYC-6Above: Looking back towards Times Square as I walked back to our hotel. Those lights certainly are bright.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Great captures Distan!!! Love the different angles!!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Xandré. I didn’t know that tripods weren’t allowed in NY. The cops moved me on a couple of times previously. On this occasion, I was shooting handheld which was a bit of a challenge but fortunately it’s so bright there I was able to accommodate the quick light falloff and recover the highlights in post. It also meant that I could get down into the gutter and try a variety of angles too. Happy new year to you too! Hope you’ve been doing well.

      Like

  2. Great images–I love the one with the puddle and the reflection in it, and also the light and texture of the black-and-white photograph of the man walking toward the lit up tower. The place is crazy and touristy, but it has amazing, unforgettable energy. After years of passing through the Times Square with some regularity, I like how much more pedestrian-friendly it got.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you so much. It IS crazy isn’t it, but there seems to be an order in the chaos. Its an electric place and so wonderful for people watching. I had wanted to do some street portraits of people in Times Square but never had quite enough courage or time. I’ve never done something like that before but the place just has a vibe which makes you think anything is possible. Its a lot of fun, that’s for sure. Thanks again for dropping by and for your comment. I really appreciate your thoughts.

      Like

      1. I know exactly what you mean about the reluctance of photographing strangers on the street. One doesn’t want to intrude, take away somebody’s privacy. I also remember how it felt when all these foreigners were photographing me as a child as if I were some exotic animal. I remember how angry and upset my grandfather was that they were giving me bright Western gum to smile for them and run around the municipal trash cans, so they can say to people at home, “all this poverty, yet look how happy these children are”. Eh. Still–a magnetic place like Times Square would really come alive with people’s private reactions of it. I thought your photograph of the man walking in a distance was a happy medium–not exactly an intrusion but a little part of his world–he seems tired, perhaps coming from work with his bags–against the exciting environment. I look forward to more images from you.

        Like

  3. memo says:

    my favorite pic, the one is water reflection … pretty awesome street photography

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Memo. Thanks for the kind words. I like the water reflection images too. It hadn’t rained a lot so the puddles were only small unfortunately. Wet ground almost always adds interest to photo’s because of the reflected light and colours. Have you ever noticed that in just about every TV show where they are filming curb-side, the streets are always wet? It really is rare to see any road on television that is actually dry – its just too drab and absorbs too much light. I was hoping to try and shoot the Apple Store (glass cube) on 5th Ave while the ground was all wet but we never had enough time; the reflections would of been great. Sorry, I’ve gone off on a tangent now. Anyway, thanks for sharing thoughts; they’re very much appreciated.

      Like

  4. Terrific set of images Distan and I am really drawn to the low perspective/reflection images. This has really added an extra dimension and interest.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you, James. Yeah, I agree, landscape/scenic views do tend to work better from a lower vantage point especially when you can compose some foreground interest. I suppose we all know it but just get a little lazy sometimes 😉

      Like

      1. So very true and the older we get the less we bend down. lol

        Like

  5. Wow! I can’t wait for your next post!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you so much Virginia, that’s very kind of you to say. Humblest of apologies in taking a wee while to reply to you too. It’s been a very busy month indeed.

      Like

Share your thoughts

