Holiday road: Yosemite-Tunnel view at 4 different times of the day


Tunnel View is THE classic vantage point for Yosemite Valley. Immortalised by Ansell Adams, this panoramic vista yields extraordinary views of El Capitan on the left, Sentinel Rock and Half Dome in the centre, and Cathedral Rocks and Bridalveil Fall on the right. It is an absolutely stonking and breathtaking sight to behold! This series of photo’s have all been taken at different times of the day starting from mid-morning, to sunset and dusk. As luck would have it, the skies had been cloudy. Now, if only all the waterfalls had been running it would of been perfect. Can you imagine how amazing these same shots would of been with water cascading from multiple points into the valley? It would be show-stopping. For me, it’s just another excuse to visit again during the springtime ;-). Here’s hoping!

Click on an image to see it larger. My favourite is the shot taken at lunchtime. I’d love to hear your views.

Above: Tunnel view at 10am. (3 bracket HDR – handheld)

Above: Tunnel view at about 2pm. (3 bracket HDR – handheld)

Above: Tunnel view at sunset. (3 bracket HDR – tripod)

Above: 10 minutes later.  (3 bracket HDR – tripod)

Above: Tunnel view at dusk – cropped at 16:9  (3 bracket HDR – tripod)

12 Comments Add yours

  1. motioners says:

    Love the relationship of time at a single location. bill

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Bill. I didn’t set out to do this per se, rather, we just kept passing this spot during the day. It wasn’t until I was reviewing the shots that I realised I had the same vista at different time points and this in itself would make an interesting post. I’m still thankful for all the interesting cloud formations. The shadows they cast really added to some of those shots. Thanks for your comments again Bill; much appreciated.

      Like

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    They look fantastic Distan, were you tempted to convert them into black and white, to be like Ansell Adams? I like the second image, is that the one you think is the best?

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      To be honest it never even occurred to me to try and convert these shots to B&W. I still feel I have SO much to learn about monochrome and I’m in awe at those who do it well. This set just spoke to me in colour but I might have a play with them again when I finish going through all the other photos from the trip. And yep, the second image is my favourite too.

      Like

  3. Mike says:

    The sunset shadows are knockout. They make me realise the scale of the place.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Ohh, to see it in the flesh (so to speak)… Just breathtaking.

      Like

  4. StrangeLittleGirl Photography says:

    Gorgeous, definitely a dynamic area!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Indeed, it reminded me of how small and insignificant we standing if front of these grand vista’s. Thanks for commenting too.

      Like

  5. Prue says:

    breathtakingly beautiful photos Distan – nice work!

    Like

  6. drawandshoot says:

    Each one is magic. What a view! I love how you did this as a series in different light. Beautiful to the extreme.

    I do hope you make it back there too, Distan!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks very much Karen.

      Like

Share your thoughts

