Holiday road: San Francisco to Sausalito bike ride


Well, its been one week since we’ve been back from our month long trip to the US and Canada and, if you’ll forgive me, in the coming posts I’m going to share with you some of our holiday travel snaps. For too long I have lived vicariously through the pictures of others’; now its my turn baby!! Indulgent? Probably; but it will afford me the opportunity to relive a busy, whirlwind escapade which saw the whole family bed down a whole set of lifelong memories. And really, isn’t that what travel is all about?

The photos in this post come from our day where we hired bicycles and rode from San Francisco’s Fishermans Wharf to Sausalito. It was a beautiful, warm day – one none of us will ever forget. We caught the ferry back to our starting point late in the afternoon which we were all quite thankful for – our bums had gotten very saddle-sore. I hopped into a cab shortly after we arrived back to the hotel that evening and abandoned my rather fatigued family in my quest to grab a sunset image of the Golden Gate bridge (above). Unfortunately I missed the sunset rays, but hey, beggars can’t be choosers.

Above: A local walking her troupe of dogs.

Above: Some hungry birdies keen for our scraps after we stopped to have mid-morning muffins and coffee at the ‘Warming Hut’.

Above: The Warming Hut. Great place to rest and re-charge. Beautiful views of the Golden Gate from here too.

 

Above: The view back towards San Fran from the top of the hill just before riding across the bridge.

Above: The view looking back towards the SF side.

Above and below: Sausalito

Above: Sausalito pizza. The best one we ate the entire time we were away. And no, it wasn’t just because we were hungry – it really was fantastic.

Above: The twisty turns of Lombard Street. My gem of a taxi driver took me here on the way back to the hotel after the Golden Gate bridge sunset shot above. To my absolute horror, I dropped my 10-22 EFS wide angle lens here. It made the most sickening noise as it crashed onto the road. Can you believe it still worked after that? I don’t know what I’ve done, but I’m still thanking my lucky stars that she continued to serve me after that.

 

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Great shots Distan!! I especially like the last one – very interesting road!!! 😉 Is the shot with the sun behind the GGB a HDR?? Usually the blue sky is blown out by shots like these?? …. Nevertheless – I loved them all!!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Xandré, the Golden Gate photo was a single 48 second exposure taken with my 9 stop ND filter, so no, it isn’t an HDR. It lets me blur the water whilst preserving detail in the highlights. Its a little fiddly to use as its a virtually black filter and you can’t see anything through the camera when its attached. You have to dial in all your settings first; switch the lens to manual focus; flick the camera to bulb mode and trigger the shutter with a remote. To be honest it was a real rush job because the cab was waiting for me and the meter was ticking.

      Lombard street (the twisty road) is really quite famous – I’m sure you will of seen it in other far more professional photo’s, but again, it was a quickie taken just beside the taxi. I started to settle down into a more relaxed groove with my photo taking by the time we got to Yosemite. It was all a little snap-happy, and excitement driven for the first few days which you can see from the shots.
      I’ve still got a lot of photo’s to cull down and edit too but its been so busy since getting back. I havent even had the time to catch up on everyone’s blogs yet either :-(. Soon, I hope.

      Like

  2. geoffwatt says:

    Great shots. You sure are lucky about your dropped lens. I once dropped a 50mm lens from head height onto a tiled floor and it survived. I guess these things are stronger than they look!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks heaps Geoff. Yep, mine fell from a little above waist height (it actually slipped out of the side-loading camera compartment in my backpack as I never zipped it up properly after hastily changing lenses). You can imagine my horror when I heard it – particularly since we were only 3 days into our trip and I had Yosemite, NY and the Rockies ahead of me still. So, so lucky. Glad to hear your 50mm survived too. Amazing really.
      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment too; I very much appreciate it.

      Like

  3. Mahesh Patil says:

    Brilliant photo log

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks very much Mahesh!!

      Like

  4. Leanne Cole says:

    Some great images here and it is nice to see some images that are not the usual ones, I love the ones of the bridge.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Leanne. It was a blast to cycle over too!

      Like

  5. drawandshoot says:

    Hey, no complaints about your travel shots. I’ve been looking forward to them, Distan! And these are terrific.
    That last shot is really interesting, what a great composition. It has a bit of a tilt shift feel to it.
    Looking forward to more! 🙂

    Like

  6. Distan Bach says:

    Oww, you’re too kind Karen; much appreciated. Looking back at the Lombard street shot, I see what you mean now. Maybe its because I had to lift the exposure and shadow values since in my rush to take the shot, the original was quite under-exposed.
    Oh, and yes there’s plenty more to come. By the way, your Canada was soooo beautiful – all that I hoped for and more. For me it was definitely a highlight.

    Like

  7. Mike says:

    I like that you’ve captured some photos that give more of a flavour of the place than the “standard” ones we normally see. The sun peeking through the bridge and Lombard Street are my favourites.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Mike. It’s always hard to choose isn’t it ? As a tourist you want to grab the postcard shots but you also want to balance it with different views and angles of familiar landmarks.

      Like

  8. Having traveled so far, I’m happy to see that you experienced sunshine while in SF! (During my sole pilgrimage to the Golden Gate Bridge, it was shrouded in fog.) And I agree with Mike, in that you’ve provided a perfect blend of postcard/unique images.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh, thanks Tricia, that’s so nice of you to say that. Yes, we were really fortunate with the weather in SF; it was a wonderful, albeit brief, stay. It’s funny, the US was never very high on my holiday destination list when I was younger, now I would just love to go back and really explore that wonderful country. Ahh, now if money was no object…
      Thanks for dropping by my blog too. I really appreciate it. I look forward to having a close look at yours too.

      Like

  9. Hi! Quick questiln that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your sjte mobile friendly?
    My blog looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a theme
    or plugin that might be able to fiix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Thank you!

    Like

Share your thoughts

