Holiday road: Yosemite and Banff


This is just a quickie post because I’m tired and our internet connection isn’t quite up to muster. Its been almost two and half weeks since we’ve been on the road and we’re now into the final leg of our North American adventure. We have seen so much that everything’s become a bit of a blur but at least I’ve got the photo record to jog the old memory. Here are just a few shots taken at Yosemite (above) and Banff. We’ve got one more day here (Banff) before we drive to Vancouver via the Okanagan Valley. Should be wonderful.

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L & EFS 10-22 | Handheld

Above: Moraine Lake

 

Above: Lake Louise – cross lake view.

 

Above: Some rowers enjoying the beautiful (but chilly) day on Lake Louise.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. bec says:

    amazing shots

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Bec; these vistas just take your breath away. Stonking stuff.

      Like

      1. Bec says:

        A photographers heaven!

        Like

  2. Distan – you’re shots are super beautiful!!! Can’t wait to see more!!! Enjoy the last leg of yout trip!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Xandré; we’ve certainly been to some picture perfect places. The shots at Lake Louise are almost surreal because the water is that glacial blue colour. Normally I have to bump the contrast and saturation because I shoot in RAW but these images are virtually straight out of camera. Amazing place.

      Like

  3. Leanne Cole says:

    Wow, the photos are so beautiful Distan, I love the crispness of them.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Leanne; blame it in the mountain air 🙂

      Like

  4. I agree with Leanne. I was blown away by the images, the composition and the stunning colours

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers James. Lake Louise (like many of the water ways in the Rockies) gets that green hue because the melting glacial waters carry rock and mineral particles that absorb all colours in the light spectrum except blue and green. Hence, these beautiful emerald tones in lakes and rivers. I have to say, it was a trip highlight.

      Like

      1. jdtphotography.co.uk says:

        Once again, terrific work

        Like

  5. Mike says:

    Your photos are bringing back some wonderful memories. I think the Rockies is my favourite place. I’d forgotten how strong the colour of the water was.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Ditto. On balance, I have to say the Rockies were my favourite place too. So, so beautiful. I wish I could snap my fingers and be back there now.

      Like

  6. drawandshoot says:

    Oh my goodness, Distan – your work always blow me away! These are spectacular.
    You know, I have to get to Banff one of these days…

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks again Karen, that’s so generous. You must, must, must get up to Banff. It is so beautiful!! I can understand if you haven’t been though – I haven’t been to too many of Australia’s gems – Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kakadu etc etc. I seem to take for granted the sights in our own backyard in favour of destinations elsewhere in the world. Silly really.

      Like

Share your thoughts

