Holiday preparations


 

In just two short days, we’ll all be boarding a plane and heading off for our first overseas family holiday! In fact, my wife and I haven’t been overseas for 17 years – kids, mortgages and renovations do that to you. Truth be told, it’s been quite a rush to get organised but we’re almost there now. In deciding on our destination we’ve traversed the globe – Vietnam, Japan, New Zealand and Europe of course, had all been on the short list. The winner for our tourist dollar though is the USA and Canada. The rationale behind all this is too long to go into suffice to say, the boys felt more comfortable with an english speaking destination which had kid-palatable food. Anyway, it’ll be a good test for us all.

Itinerary wise, this is where we’ll be going:

Sydney to the West Coast of the USA

  • Three days in San Francisco before hiring a car and driving out to explore Yosemite for a further 2-3 days.
  • After heading back to the coast, we’ll take a couple of days to drive down the Pacific Coast Road. Looking forward to seeing Big-Sur and the California coastline. With any luck, the children will have behaved themselves enough for us to visit Universal Studio’s or Six Flags Magic Mountain ;-). I really don’t want to drive in LA, so we’ll avoid it until the last moment.

Los Angeles to New York

  • After jumping a flight, we’ll be off to New York where we’ll stay in Manhattan for 8 day’s.
  • Lot’s of walking, various side trips and marvelling at one of the worlds busiest cities.

New York to Calgary

  • I only organsied this in the past week but I’m so glad I did. We’ll fly from New York to Calgary where we’ll pick up a car and drive out to Banff!!!!! It’s only going to be a short 3 day stay here but it would of killed me if we’d been in Canada and I never got up there.
  • Drive down through Yoko National Park travelling south west into the Okanagan Valley. I’ve booked a little Bed and Breakfast for the night in Kelowna. I ‘m so looking forward to seeing vineyards surrounded by glacial lakes…
  • Arrive in Vancouver for the final 3-4 days of our trip. Depending on how tired we are, we might try and do a couple of side trips like head up towards Whistler but to be honest I think we’ll be pretty sick of moving around. I’m sure we’ll enjoy exploring Vancouver by foot.

Anyway, that’s how it stands at the minute – 42 hours prior to departure. What do you guys think?

If anyone has any tips and suggestions for any of these destinations then please, please, please leave them in the comments. I’ll be taking an 11′ Macbook Air that I bought off eBay so I’m hoping I will be able to do some updates (and post photos) while we’re away when we have wi-fi access. Well, that’s the plan anyway…

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Mate I can only imagine the planning that has gone into that! I’m taking the four kids to Hawaii for 8 days next week and it has done my head in all the paperwork and planning for such a short trip. Next time it’ll be something local we can drive to and just figure it out when we get there 🙂 Have a fantastic time and take loads of photos and remember when you are there to remind yourself that your are THERE! You know what I mean. Enjoy 🙂

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      I know what you mean; we’ve done ‘local’ for the past decade. Two kids can be challenging enough but four?! Hat’s off to you my friend. Maybe Im being naive, but time will tell how well we’ve organised things :-).
      Hope the Hawaii trip goes well, and thanks for dropping by too.

      Like

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    Have a great time. Looking forward to seeing your photos.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Leanne. I’m looking forward to getting some good shots although Im sure I’ll drive the family nuts too. Will have to get the balance right (hopefully in my favour though) ;-).

      Like

  3. Sounds freaken fabulous Distan!!! Have a great time – looking forward to the photos that you bring back along with (I’m sure) some great stories!!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Xandré. It’s both exciting and anxiety provoking. Here’s hoping we’ve got everything organised that we need. Fingers crossed, should be a great adventure.

      Like

  4. Mike says:

    Have fun! The Rockies are my favourite place on earth.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Mike. Of the whole trip, this is possibly the part I’m most looking forward too. Hope the weather is okay for some half decent photos. It’s been a lifelong dream to get up to the Rockies. I can’t wait!

      Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks James. No turning back now so I’ll think I’ll just have to make the most of it :-).

      Like

      1. You are very welcome. I am sure it will be brilliant as family times are so special

        Like

  5. sounds wonderful ! will have to read the ‘after’ posts..

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks so much for visiting. I’m excited about putting some photos up of Yosemite and the California coast this week so I do hope you pop by again. Much appreciated.

      Like

Share your thoughts

