From the Vault: Stunning Sunrise at Bronte Beach


A lot has been happening in the last few weeks and I’ve had precious little time to attend to the blog. Consequently, this post is really just to let you all know that I am still alive and hoping to have some new material up real soon. You see, my family and I are off on an overseas holiday in a little over a week! Yay!! and double yay!!! I can hardly wait!!!

The sunrise shots I’m sharing tonight were taken last year and are possibly my favourite images that I’ve ever taken down at Sydney’s Bronte beach. It was just one of those mornings where everything just clicked ;-). Yes, the photo’s have been edited, but you’d be surprised how little has been done to them – the colours of that sunrise really were there. It did help to have used two ND Grad Filters though…

Canon 7D | Tripod | EFS 10-22 | Hoya ND Grad Filters

Above: My favourite sunrise image at Bronte. I have posted this shot before on other sites but never here on the blog. The colour intensity of the sky was aided through the use of two ND Grad filters layered over each other. Click on the image to see it larger.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow wow wow!!! They really are magnificent Distan!!! Overseas – that is fantastic!!! Where are you going?? Looking forward to what you bring back!!! Enjoy this time with you family!!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Xandré; we’re going to the States and Canada. I’m hoping to write a post about it over the weekend after I’ve sorted a couple more details 🙂
      I can’t wait!!!

      Like

      1. drawandshoot says:

        You’re coming to Canada?! Have a great time, Distan.
        These are amazing images, and that last one is really intriguingly beautiful.

        Like

        1. Distan Bach says:

          Thanks Karen. Yep, we’ll be in Canada in about 3 weeks. Seriously, I can’t wait! It’s been a lifelong dream, and now it’s almost here!!

          Like

        2. drawandshoot says:

          That’s so cool! Where are you headed?

          Like

        3. Distan Bach says:

          He, he. I was going to do a quick post about it, but briefly, the Canada leg is: fly into Calgary, hire car and drive straight to Banff. Hang around here for few days before taking a couple of days to drive via Okanagan Valley to Vancouver. We’ll fly back to Sydney from Van, but not before spending 3-4 days around the city. It’s short, but it’s something at least. I can’t wait!

          Like

        4. drawandshoot says:

          I look forward to your pictures and travel adventures! I was in the Okanagan and Vancouver in June – you will love it.

          Like

  2. A really stunning set of images!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you James. It was just one of those mornings – right time, right place. Makes it all worthwhile when it ‘happens’.

      Like

Share your thoughts

