Be aware of your photographic biases or Winter sunrise at Bronte Beach II


Where has the week gone? Its amazing how time just seems to fly sometimes.

I’ve lost count how many times I’ve shot sunrise at this location, and to be honest, I’ve gotten a bit lazy. As much as I love the sunrise over Bronte, I’ve come to realise that I tend to follow the same routine: set-up tripod near rock pool; dial in camera settings; cross fingers that sunrise will be colourful; press shutter button; repeat. See what I mean? Same ol’, same ol’. This occasion was a little different. Firstly, I knew I was going to be late to set-up prior to the sun cresting the horizon ; and secondly, the sky and clouds just weren’t cooperating (again). So, with that slight stressor no longer an issue, my goal for this shoot was to capture images that I otherwise have a tendency to ignore. For me, it was about re-balancing priorities – in chasing the ‘glory shot’ of that special sunrise everything else fell away. A selective blindness to those details that make a story. Hence, this was the second goal of the shoot – to re-train my eye to look for visual narratives; not just create a pretty picture. And, this is also why I’ve chosen to create these little photo montages – again, just to get out of my ‘beach sunrise photo’ rut. I had grand plans of marrying the images from the previous post together with the photo’s here into a thumbnail photostrip. My hope was that you guys might of seen a bit of a story rather than just individual images but I’ll have to leave that to your imaginations now –  my bed beckons.

If this chimes with anyone, I’d love to hear how you deal with your own little photographic ruts, biases and tendencies in the comments below. Oh, and thanks for reading this far too 🙂

Cheers guys, d.

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L | Handheld

6 Comments Add yours

  1. martin connolly says:

    Distan – interesting – I had similar musings while on a Gold Coast beach on the 20th at sunrise. As they say ‘the shot’ is not always where you expect it to be, or where you usually look for it.

    Is the rock pool an HDR image?

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Hi Martin, couldn’t agree with you more. The number of times I’ve gotten home after a shoot and wondered why I didn’t get shot ‘x’ or shot ‘y’ has been a source of minor frustration. I suppose that’s a good thing as it helps to push and exercise your compositional eye in preparation for the next opportunity.
      And no, the rockpool image isn’t an HDR; it’s pretty much how it was shot in camera. A little global sharpening with a couple of clicks to the vibrance and contrast sliders. I did use a 9 stop ND filter though to extend the exposure and smooth the water.
      Thanks for stopping by Martin; much appreciated.

      Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    It’s easy to repeat yourself, isn’t it? I think I do that all the time!
    These are lovely, Distan. It gives a feel for the morning.
    I especially like the sand tracks in the foreground of the first image. It tells a story.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Karen. Nothing wrong with repetition – its one way how we monitor our improvements isn’t it? Repetition breeds consistency. For me, I’ve been really feeling that I need to do more with my images compositionally – particularly with the rut I’d developed when shooting Bronte. Sometimes I wonder what it would be like to see it through someone else’s eyes. For example; if the two of us went down there together I feel quite sure I’d be blown away by the images you brought back from the trip compared to mine. You see things differently to me just as I see things differently to the next photog. Which is one of the reasons why we follow and respect the work of other photographers and bloggers 🙂

      Like

  3. Leanne Cole says:

    I really like these, you are telling a story, I can see the story, I hope you continue to do this.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks for the feedback Leanne; I think its going to be my little personal endeavour.

      Like

Share your thoughts

