Winter sunrise at Bronte beach


It’s been a couple of months since I dragged myself out of bed to take some sunrise photo’s. Blame it on the cooling weather here in Sydney; and my laziness. Well yesterday all that changed. I braved the winter chill (the weather app on the iPhone said the apparent air temperature was 4.6C) and got down to Bronte beach about a minute before sunrise. Yes, the sun had just crested the horizon when I started taking shots but I wasn’t fazed – I had intended on taking notice of ‘smaller details’ for this photo trip anyway. So, here’s a few quickies including a mosaic shot of those aforementioned incidentals. I have a few more that I’ll post in the next couple of days – I’d love to hear what you guys think of these so far :-). Hopefully, I’ll find more time in the next post to tell you why I’m practicing this stuff a little more too.

Canon 7D | EFS 10-22 & EF 24-105L | Tripod & handheld | Post: Aperture 3.3

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Leanne Cole says:

    You inspire me to do this, but the thought of getting up at 3 or 4 am for the 2 hour drive to the beach is a little daunting. I am going to do it one of these days.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh you must Leanne, it’s invigorating – particularly where there is good coffee waiting for you afterwards. Spring or Autumn would be my picks though. Not to early to make it impossible; still warm enough to make it comfortable.

      Like

      1. Leanne Cole says:

        I will do it, you will see the results. Thanks.

        Like

  2. Mike says:

    I’m still getting used to the ‘winter chill’ of 5 C – in Scotland it was often below -5 as I left for work in the winter, even hitting -12 on occasion!
    Lovely photos – I really notice how clear and blue the sky stays here all year round.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Yeah, you can take the weather in Sydney for granted sometimes – its pretty good year-round.

      Like

  3. drawandshoot says:

    It still looks like summer to me, Distan.
    Gorgeous!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      I thought so too – I suppose the light tricked the camera and hence the colour temperature was quite warm. I didn’t alter these in post at all although it crossed my mind to cool the image temp down so it was more reflective of how cold and wintery it was.

      Like

Share your thoughts

