Vivid Light Festival : Circular Quay


Just a quick post tonight. Here’s a few more shots from the other night when I took my youngest son down to check out the sights around Circular Quay during the Vivid Light Festival. I was teaching him how to take (and understand) long-exposure shots on his little point-and-shoot when a couple of ferries went past the Opera House. Bingo! I just love how the water just looks like its sprinkled with gold dust from the passing lights of the ferry – I’m such a kid really :-). My youngest managed a few half decent shots too!!

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L & EFS 10-22 | Tripod | Post: Aperture 3.0

Above: Lantern fish tricycles. In my first post of the Vivid festival series there were 3 shots where I used a 10 second exposure to capture them as they passed. Those images reminded me of the movie Tron. Well, here are the culprits….stationary. (PS. They don’t go past very fast when they are on the move anyway).

Above: Looking back towards Circular Quay and the Sydney CBD. The Custom’s House light show (previous post) is immediately behind the pink lit building. The Opera House would be to the left of frame.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Leanne Cole says:

    Some great night photography here. I think that is where Sydney does have it over us, the Yarra River just isn’t big enough for images like this.

    Like

  2. Bec says:

    Really love the first image

    Like

  3. Bec says:

    Oh and the 2nd

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Bec. Thanks for dropping by again.

      Like

  4. Mike says:

    Nice shots. I had to handhold my x100, as my DSLR and tripod are still in a shipping container. I’ve picked up a gorillapod for another go – if this weather let’s up!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Handheld?! Gee, you did well then Mike with your shots. I’m sure you’ll go well with Gorilla pod. If it hasn’t been raining its been too cold for me this week.

      Like

Share your thoughts

