Vivid Light Festival : Sydney 2012


The Vivid Light Festival has begun once again in Sydney. Now into its fourth year, Sydneysiders are once again enjoying the many light installations that dot the foreshore around the Opera House and Circular Quay. Tonight I thought I’d head down to Campbells Cove (which is opposite the Opera House) and grab some shots of our famous landmark as it served as a backdrop to a muted, but lovely light show. Over the next two and half weeks I’m hoping to get down there a few more times so I’m sure you’ll to see a bit more of the sights. Should be good đŸ™‚

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L & EFS 10-22 | Tripod | Post: Aperture 3.0

Above: Looking back towards the International Ocean Terminal, Circular Quay and the CBD. You can see a few of the office blocks have been lit as well – I happened to catch them in their ‘blue’ phase here.

Above: The three shots above were all taken as a 10 second exposure. They were of a trio of tricycles all clad to resemble glowing lantern fish. I just liked the light streaks – they reminded me of the movie Tron (particularly the first shot).

Above: Opera House under lights. Its an animated show – the sequence in the shot above has girl rolling around the main sail. Its really quite mesmerising. I’ll try and grab some video to share next time.

Above: Elevated shot of Campbells Cove. The Opera House would be to the right of frame; the CBD directly behind me. I’d like to get some more of these shots but at around nightfall – it would be nice to have the remnants of the evenings sunset lingering in the sky.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Very very very very cool!!!!! đŸ™‚ **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers XandrĂ©. It’s really pretty. Sydney just shines under all these lights.

      Like

  2. Sahil Dev says:

    Really nice…!!!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Sahil, appreciate you stopping by too.

      Like

  3. Leanne Cole says:

    The lighting effects are really cool.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Leanne. Light trail shots are always a little special; you never know exactly how they’ll turn out. Really, I think they are a bit like a Christmas present – you hope to get something you want but until you take the wrapping off you’re not entirely sure đŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Mike Moruzi says:

    Love the light trails! I’ve only made it to Sydney once, but with us moving back to Melbourne late this year, I’m already thinking about my next trip.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Mike. You could do worse than Melbourne; I think its just such a beautiful city – I love it. I suppose Sydney’s advantage is its harbour and beaches though.

      Like

  5. Aidyearts says:

    beautiful

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you; too kind.

      Like

Share your thoughts

