Portrait shoot-part I: Lily (Kelly + the girls)


A couple of weeks ago when I was down in Victoria I had the privilege of shooting a good friend of mine – Kelly (she’s second from the right in the above photo). I first met Kel about 10 years ago when I started to go down to the Port Fairy folk festival where we would join in with others to sing and laugh the weekend away. Since then, we’ve both grown a little wiser and in equal measure sillier, added more children to our respective broods and embraced the twists and turns of life. I’ve seen her gorgeous girls become more beautiful with each passing year and enjoyed listening to her sing and shake the tambourine like a dynamo. Really, I can’t thank her enough for kindly accepting my invitation to drop in and take some photo’s so I could build my portrait portfolio.

For tonights post, I’ve chosen to feature Kelly’s youngest daughter Lily. What a wonderful young lady! Not long after arriving, I stepped outside to scout out some places which might offer a good backdrop for our photo’s. Lily came out and not only helped me get some exposure and meter readings, she started suggesting and demonstrating a variety of posing options! She was such a charmer –  thoughtful and creative. Kelly, you must be so proud! I know I was impressed. So, without further adieu; here’s Lily.

Canon 7D | Canon EF 24-70L f2.8 & EF 50 f1.4 | Handheld | Post: Aperture 3.0 and Photoshop

Above: Lily

Above: I asked if Lily had a favourite teddy bear or stuffed animal. The words had barely left my mouth before she had run off and retrieved this little guy. Its one of my favourite shots in this series.

Above: (L-R) Georgia, Annie and Lily

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Cathrine says:

    Wow Distan…they are just stunning photos…well done. The girls are looking absolutely gorgeous!!!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Cathrine; those girls are gorgie arent they!

      Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    Great portraits, Distan!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Karen; Lily was a gem to shoot.

      Like

  3. Mike Moruzi says:

    My favourite is the 4th image where she is peaking out from behind the tree (holding the branches back). There’s a serious bit of mischief in those eyes…

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      I agree Mike. The shots I took of her through the trees all captured this real spark in her eye’s. She was really enjoying participating in the shoot at this stage and was suggesting different poses that she could do. So cute; we both laughed a lot.

      Like

Share your thoughts

