Tongue-in-cheek Portrait Shoot: Rebecca


In my previous 3 posts I featured some of images taken at the recent Tour of the South West cycling event in Warrnambool, Victoria. What wasn’t seen through those lycra filled shots was the people who worked tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure the event was a success. Tonights post is a tongue-in-cheek portrait of the tour’s Event Manager – Rebecca. When the race had finally finished on the Sunday afternoon we were able to catch-up over dinner with one of her friends and reflect on all that had happened. Proudly, I showed some of the photo’s of the day. All was going swimmingly until we came to a series that I had taken during the presentation ceremony. With a gasp, she paused on the images where she was in frame –

Rebecca: ” I look a hundred years old! … You’ve made me look like a bag lady!!”.

Me: “Ummm, no, no, you look great! What are talking about?” I stumbled. [Cue Tumbleweeds and the sound of crickets].

Rebecca shoot up and walked out of the room, calling to her friend to follow. “Go outside” came her muffled call.

Ever obedient, I did exactly as directed.

A few short minutes later, the back door opened and Rebecca strode out wearing a cycling outfit! “Now you can take some pictures. And, make me look good !”

Okay, I might be slightly dramatising this account – and the bottle of wine we had all been drinking probably helped a little too – but the fact remains, she did indeed wear the cycling gear. Long story short, I retrieved my light-stand and umbrella from the car and set-up to take some shots. Now here’s the evenings second surprise, not only did I shoot her in her friends cycling get-up, but in all the fun, the suggestion was made to change outfits again – this time to a black evening dress! Bazinga! I was so happy with the photos that I declared them the best ones of the weekend ( and that was after some 3500 shots).

We had a ball with these shots – a real tongue-in-cheek take on the events of the weekend: lycra, cigarette, wine, racing bike. The black evening dress was simply for the classy absurdity when juxtaposed next to the bike.

So, let me extend my heartfelt thanks again to Rebecca. Not only was she kind enough to invite me to shoot the inaugural Tour of the South West cycling event, she was also the most marvellous impromptu model I have ever had the pleasure to photograph. Goes to show you; if you can throw a little caution to the wind (and probably a bit of pride too), don’t take yourself too seriously, relax and have some laughs you can create some really fun images.

Oh, and I feel pretty confident in saying that Rebecca can’t be mistaken for being a 100 year old bag lady now. Glamazon!

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L | Canon 580 EXII & Canon 430 EXII speedlites | Umbrella softbox & DIY Grid | Post: Aperture 3.0

(Click an image to see it larger)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. drawandshoot says:

    These are super fun shots, very clever!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Karen. I was hoping that that might come across in the images. It was a very funny impromptu shoot! Bec was a dream to photograph because she was prepared to have a laugh and not take herself too seriously. Cigarette and glass of red on a bike?! She’s not even a smoker.
      These images sort of reminded me of a conservative politician we had here in Australia a decade ago. He agree to a photo shoot where he wore black fish-net stockings and high heels (i think it might of been for charity). Despite not liking him or his politics, I respected the creative risk he took given his profile.

      Like

Share your thoughts

