Cycling Event III: Anchor Point Tour of the South West – Criterium stage


Well, today’s post is the last in the cycling series from the Anchor Point Tour of the South West. These photo’s are from the final stage of the 2 day event – the Criterium. For this portion of the Tour, riders raced around a closed road circuit in the city Warrnambool. At 1.2km, each lap took riders around the cemetery – up a steep hill (King of the Mountain), around sharp corners and down past the Hopkins river to this finish line. Each class of riders did this for a hour or so; and they did it at a cracking pace. Camera in hand, I would walk along the circuit finding different angles to shoot from but they were lapping so fast I would hardly be in position before they were around again. From a photography point of view, strangely I found this stage of the Tour the most difficult shoot. Im not sure whether I just felt out of sorts (no mojo), was fatigued from the previous days shooting, or whether the city circuit with all its background visual noise (street signs, barricades, power lines etc) just made it more difficult. I remember having to really focus and concentrate to get shots I was happy with though. Funny that; somedays you just feel ‘on’ and on others its, well, ‘blah’.

Anyway, big shout out to everyone who organised this wonderful, inaugural cycling event and inviting me down to be a small part of it. If you’ve just come across this post randomly and would like to know more about the Tour of the South West you can follow this link here to go to their website. Check out my two previous posts as well if you want to see some shots from the previous stages.

Canon 7D | Lenses: EF 70-200L f4, EFS 10-22, EF 24-105L | Handheld | Post: Aperture 3.0

Above: And they’re off

Above: Round the first corner and the riders had the steep challenge of the ‘King of the Mountain’. That’s the Hopkins river behind them.

Above: Near the top of the hill. Cemetery and Hopkins river in the background.

Above: Victory (A Grade – I think)

Above: Victory! (B Grade)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. andybeel says:

    Hi the low viewpoint ones work well – thanks
    Andy

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Yeah, I agree Andy. I found that with the previous stages too, but as they say – ‘variety is the spice of life’. I found with the low shots that I had to use faster shutter speeds because I couldn’t pan effectively when on the floor. And, really, the lower the angle, the nicer the shot. This meant basically shooting flat from the ground – or unsighted from the gutter with my wide angle.
      As I said though, it was great learning opportunity since I hadn’t shot anything like this type of event before.

      Like

Share your thoughts

