Cycling Event II: Anchor Point Tour of the South West – Time Trial stage


The Time Trials stage of the Anchor Point Tour of the South West kicked off at 2.30pm in the afternoon. Considering all the riders had just completed a mammoth Road Race earlier that day, I was amazed that they looked as fresh as they did.Typical of Warrnambool, the weather had turned sour – cool, windy and with intermittent rain. The Time Trial was an undulating 12.7km course where riders rode off individually in a bid to record the best time. I felt a little sorry for some of the guys as they set off in less than ideal conditions, but as they say, “them’s the breaks”. A few times I had to retreat to the shelter of my car, bag-up my camera and battle the wind and rain. Still, despite the inclement weather, I had a ball.

For my last post in this series, I’ll put up the shots from the Criterium which were held on the Sunday. Oh, and if you’re interesting in finding out more about the Tour of the South West click here.

Canon 7D | EF 70-200L f4 | Handheld | Post: Aperture 3.0

Above: These two shots were taken the previous afternoon after we had set-up. I just thought I’d add them for context. đŸ™‚

Above: The riders would start off the ramp every 30 seconds – you can see some of them lined up ready for their signal to go. 

Above: Couldn’t help myself – decided to get a little ‘artsy-fartsy’ with this one. I really like it though.

Above: One of the course spectators.

Above: I snapped this at the end of the day, just before packing up. Its a single shot HDR. There really wasn’t much light at this time of the afternoon and it was just about to start raining again. I just saw this bicycle leaning against this fence post and it caught my fancy. 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Your photos are exceptional Distan!! I also like the new watermark!! đŸ™‚ **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Too kind XandrĂ©. Thanks for the feedback about the watermark too! I’ve just been playing really but its nice that you noticed. I kind of felt my round logo (the one that’s in the header) is just a little formal and business like. I’ve been wanting to soften it somehow but haven’t been about to really arrive at anything that Im happy with. Its hard – you see other peoples logo’s/wordmarks and think ‘gee, that looks good. Wish I’d thought / done that…’ Sometimes we’re our own worst critics…
      Can I ask you though; what is it that you found appealing about the new watermark? Its simplicity? Is it less pretentious? What does it ‘say’ about my brand? Any thoughts appreciated, however small.

      Like

      1. Yes, I agree – our own worst critics!!! I stopped putting my watermark on it for exactly that reason – I have not quite found one that feel ‘me’!!! I like this one because your name is immediately visible!! I know you are Distan Bach and you are a photographer – it was striking!! I loved your previous watermark, but your name got lost (when you don’t enlarge the photo) and (for me) it felt maybe a bit busy?? – but keep on experimenting until you come up with something that you like and feel comfortable with!!! đŸ˜€ **

        Like

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    Great job. Photographing a time trial makes the rest worthwhile.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Leanne. I have to say, the time trial was certainly easier to shoot – I wasn’t having to run around like a numb-nut to capture something. đŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Hello Distan,
    The first picture is just great (and the horse too) !!
    I hope you will like the fact that I nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award.
    Cheers
    Mathias

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Mathias. And, thank you so much for the Kreativ Blogger Award too!! Thats very flattering (though Im not sure what it means entirely). I do however, really, really appreciate your kind and generous support. Many thanks!

      Like

  4. drawandshoot says:

    A wonderful series, Distan.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Karen, many thanks.

      Like

Share your thoughts

