Cycling Event: Anchor Point Tour of the South West – Warrnambool, Victoria


This time last Saturday I was in country Victoria after being invited to shoot the inaugural Anchor Point Tour of the South West bike race. It was a two day, 3 staged event that traversed the rolling terrain of the Warrnambool and Moyne shires. I’ve never shot a cycling event before so I was both apprehensive and excited about capturing some decent images – particularly since I was the sole official photographer too. After reading a post by another photographer blogger I follow – Leanne Cole (see her here), I asked Warrnambool Council if there was any possibility of being able to shoot from the back of a motorbike. Happily, they were able to organise one of the locals to take me around and follow the cyclists through the circuit (many, many thanks to Neville!). Whilst I did shoot from the back of the bike; I found the better shots came from stopping at certain points around the course where I could really adjust my camera settings and (try to) compose things better.

This post is from the first event – the Road Race. All images were taken handheld but with a variety of different camera settings – Aperture priority, Shutter priority and full Manual. It was a fantastic experience and I can’t thank the Event Manager – Rebecca Elmes from Warrnambool Council enough for the opportunity to be part of this event. I met some really wonderful people down there; and those cyclists – Wow; so fit!!

If you’d like to know more about the Anchor Point Tour of the South West visit their website here. I’ll put photo’s up of the Time Trials in the next post.

Canon 7D | Lenses: EF 70-200L IS f4 and EFS 10-22 | Handheld | Post: Aperture 3.0

Above: Possibly my favourite shot of this set. I preferred the lower shutter speed shots because they provide movement in the frame. They are, of course, much harder to capture well though.

 

Above: Shot at 1/1250 in Aperture priority, everything freezes. Fine, except these guys are flying! So, unlike the shots above, you really don’t get a sense of the energy and inertia. I do however like the shot because of its composition – riding into the sun, shot low etc. 

Above: Race to the finish. Unfortunately the guys were too exhausted when they crossed the line do a ‘fist pump’ or throw their arms up (which is apparently illegal according to the race rules). Can’t blame them though – I know I couldn’t ride 100+ kilometres in a couple of hours, that’s for sure.  

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Mike Moruzi says:

    What a great opportunity! Well done. I like the low perspective shots too, especially against that glorious blue sky.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Mike; it really was a great experience. I had a blast. The weather changed constantly through the day and I was very glad we had broken cloud and blue skies in the morning. By the afternoon it was windy and rainy and so the pictures started to look a little drab in comparison.

      Like

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    It is funny seeing someone else with some cycling photos, this is what I do most weekends. I was meant to go to that race, but it was too far away and I was asked pretty late. You got some great shots.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Leanne, much appreciated. When I got the opportunity, I had been reading your experiences with the Baw Baw and Melbourne track events. I can really appreciate how tiring this type of gig is. Up at 5.30am; shoot until 5pm and then I had an hour to turn around the shots for an evening slideshow at the event dinner. Did it all again on the Sunday.
      Have no fear though, I will not be competing with you in the arena of cycling photo’s. It was just great fun and a terrific learning experience.
      Kudos to you – I really enjoyed your recent cycling posts too.

      Like

Share your thoughts

