Portrait shoot: Artist – Beverley Davies


Last Saturday I had the privilege of shooting my friend and old work colleague, Bev Davies. We worked together 20 years ago when we were both at The Rozelle Hospital – a psychiatric facility based in Sydney’s inner west suburb of Lilyfield. These days, Bev’s time is split between her love for painting and working part-time as a community mental health nurse (those bill’s still need to be paid don’t they). It was the first time I had been to Bev’s house and, strangely, it was as I expected. Quirky, inspired and adorned with canvasses of her work; it just seemed to epitomise her life as a creative soul and a resilient mother. We chatted more than we took photo’s, laughed at the comical antics of her two dog’s – Arthur and Tabasco – and drank tea and coffee. It was a really wonderful afternoon and I can’t thank her enough for her generosity and hospitality. All the best Bev for your next works and thanks again!

If you’d like to know a little bit more about Bev and see some of her award winning portrait work, you can check-out her brief bio on Portrait Artists Australia here.

Canon 7D | Lenses used: EF 50 f1.4 & EF 24-105L f4 | Speedlites 580EX II & 430 EX II | Handheld | Post: Aperture 3.0 & Photoshop

Above: “Arthur”

Above: I shot this in her garage with two Canon Speedlites. Key light was the 580 EX II and a shoot through umbrella; the 430 EX II is behind Bev (camera right) with my own DIY grid acting as a faint rim light.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. drawandshoot says:

    A very lovely portrait shoot, Distan.
    Great vibrancy.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks very much Karen. It was both exciting and nerve inducing too – wanting to capture some great images and anxious that they wouldn’t be anything special. I’m not sure I was entirely successful, but it was a great learning opportunity. Landscape photography certainly is easier in this respect 🙂
      Have you done much portrait work?

      Like

  2. Rebecca Geikowski says:

    Amazing, the blue is lovely x

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Rebecca. I cross processed the images with both a green filter and a blue filter in Photoshop. It really accentuated those underlying blues without taking out all the warmth in the other tones. Well, to my eyes at least.
      Thanks for visiting too; I really appreciate it.

      Like

  3. really enjoy how your photographs of the work space all become part of the actual portrait – and the out of focus area give us something to feel rather than see

    (this is me http://andrewfinnie.blogspot.com.au/ I coudln’t post via my blog so did it by facebook) cheers!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you very much Andrew. I really appreciate those thoughtful observations.
      I had a look at your website and some of your immense body of work too. Very impressive I must say. Your attention to detail and colour grading is moving and truly beautiful.
      Thanks for visiting too!

      Like

Share your thoughts

