Balmoral beach – Good Friday sunrise


At 3am this morning, the household was woken by our neighbours who thought it would be a great idea to jump into their pool and yahoo until well after 4am. I wasn’t really able to get back off to sleep after that; instead tossing and turning until just after 5.20am. It wasnt really how I planned to spend Good Friday. So, as you can probably guess, I decided to get up and head out to take some sunrise photo’s again. Today, I revisited Balmoral Beach in Sydney’s lower north shore. It was a stunning morning, full of promise for the glorious day ahead.

Happy Easter everyone!

Canon 7D | EF 24-70L & EFS 10-22 | Tripod & handheld | Post: Photomatix (for the HDRs [above and below]) & Aperture 3

Above: The Rotunda on the boardwalk of Balmoral Beach. My brother-in-law got married here a few years ago. This is a 6 exposure HDR image processed through Photomatix. Its pretty close to how it looked to the naked eye.

Above: Frustratingly I forgot my 9 stop ND fliter this morning (I left it on my other lens). This was taken with my 3 stop ND filter; and yes, those are my feet!

Above: Council sweepers busily preparing the boardwalk for the day.

Above: Just before my swim (and coffee).

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Razel Rull-Navarro says:

    One of my fave destinations in the lower north shore. Thankful that I am 15 minutes away from this spot ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Fortunately I too am only about 15 minutes away from Balmoral now. I grew up next to Bronte beach but we moved to the north side only recently. I have to say, it is pretty down there.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting too; I really appreciate it.

      Like

      1. Razel Rull-Navarro says:

        I love Bronte as well. I have done the walk from Bronte to Coogee and absolutely loved the breathtaking coastal scenery. Waverly cemetery is a fave spot of mine too.

        You’re welcome! I am following your cool blog now. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        1. Distan Bach says:

          Yeah, it’s beautiful along there isn’t it. I never tire of that coast walk. Oh, and thanks for the follow; too kind.

          Like

  2. toemailer says:

    We would love to post the third photo down at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      No problem; thanks for dropping by too.

      Like

  3. toemailer says:

    It’s posted now. Thanks so much for participating in toemail – we really appreciate it!

    Like

  4. Daphne Birett says:

    What a wonderful sunrise you captured in the first image. Is there a particular end where the sunrise is more magnificent than other spots down at Balmoral?

    Like

  5. Jim says:

    Magic photos

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Jim, Balmoral is a really pretty harbour beach. I love getting down there for sunrise and a morning coffee. Very civilized.

      Like

Share your thoughts

