Bronte sunrise surfers


Last Saturday I thought I’d take advantage of the end of daylight savings and grab some shots down at Bronte beach again. Sunrise wasn’t until 7.07am so honestly, there’s no excuses really. The drive there was coolish, that familiar Autumn bite nibbling at the heels of summer. Driving past Centennial Park I couldn’t help but stop briefly to grab a shot of a little fog across the sporting fields. It’s harder than I thought; particularly when taken without the tripod – handheld only. The fog really screws up the cameras metering and focus system and, truth be told, I was more interested in the impending sunrise than switching to Manual and trying to do it properly. Next time…

Sunrise was a little disappointing; the requisite cloud bank sitting snug on the horizon. Still, the ND filter got a workout again and this time I’ve left it as a colour image. Fortunately there was a beautiful swell which had enticed many a surfer out amongst the waves. I spent a good half hour watching them and grabbing a few frames as they chased their ride-of-the-day.

Oh, and yes, I went for a quick swim again too and enjoyed my morning coffee.

 

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L & EF 70-200 f4 L | Tripod and Handheld | Post: Aperture 3.0

Above: Rock pool and baths. 62 sec exposure, f11, ISO 100, ND +9 filter.

Above: Tearing it up! 1/2000 sec @ f4. ISO 200.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. drawandshoot says:

    Such gorgeous colours in the water!
    And the rock pool! The texture and detail is stunning Distan.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Karen, such kind words. Really appreciated.

      Like

  2. Wow Distan!!! Gorgeous – again!!!! I get so excited when I get a post update from you – & I am never disappointed!!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Oh wow Xandré; that’s one of the nicest things anyone has said to me in ages. Thank you so much!

      Like

  3. Bec says:

    Great shots

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Cheers Bec. Thanks heaps.

      Like

Share your thoughts

