Port Fairy Folk Festival streetwalk


It’s been a busy few weeks and despite my intentions I’ve struggled to post some of the shots from my recent trip to this years Port Fairy Folk Festival. Every year for more than a decade, I’ve made the pilgrimage to this Victorian coastal town to meet with friends to play and sing at The Caledonia Inn (aka The Stump Hotel). This set of photo’s were taken when I took quick break from the music and went for a wander up the main street of this normally quiet fishing town. Most of these shot’s have been cross-processed to have a vintage feel. I know this has been all the rage of late, but its not something I’ve ever really tried in the digital medium. I confess to being a little inspired by the work of Fred Herzog whose book Ive been recently digesting. See what you think…

Canon 7D | EF 24-70L | Handheld | Post: Aperture 3.0

Above: Buskers. Cross-processed. I took a few photo’s of these guys and settled on this one. I like how he’s looking out of frame at something and the lass on drum’s is busy adjusting something that we can’t see.

 Above: Reflections. Cross-processed. This didn’t quite turned out how I’d pre-visualised. The reflection of this threesome is clearer than I’d like and I’ve lost all detail of anything that was behind the glass. Still, I like his expression and the fact that the woman beside him was trying to work out what on earth I found so interesting to photograph inside this shop.

Above: Man @ Table 3. Cross-processed. This shot worked a bit better with the focal subject and window reflections.

Above: Street performer. I wanted this man to stand out more from the crowd so I desaturated the background a little. He had a terrific energy which just made him compelling to watch. I tried to capture a sense of this through his facial expressions.

Above: Fish & Chips. Cross-processed. Of all the window reflection shots I was happiest with this one. I hope it improves with time.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Bridget says:

    Oh Distan these are the best shot of Port Fairy I’ve seen!
    Can’t wait to see more.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Bridge. I thought that cross-processed look would work better for these images. They would of just been a bit ‘flat’ otherwise.

      Like

  2. Bec says:

    Lovin’ the look of these shots.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Bec, too kind.

      Like

  3. Cathrine says:

    Wow…particularly like the street performer…so bright and in your face against the duller backdrop.
    Great job!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Cath; he was so expressive and engaging as he virtually posed for me. Appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment too.

      Cheers, d.

      Like

Share your thoughts

