From the Vault: Setting moon & ocean sunrise


Arrghh! Frustratingly, I think its almost two weeks since I’ve been able to get out and take some photo’s. You know, ‘life’ just gets in the way sometimes. So, rather than let another day pass without updating this little blog, I’ve decided to plunder the digital vault and put up some shots I took a number of months ago. These photo’s come from a very early sunrise shoot I did at Bronte beach again – so early, the moon was still up blinking brightly when I had arrived. Thankfully, the sunrise was quite a treat too.

Canon 7D | EF 70-200L & EF 24-105L | Handheld | ISO: 100 | Post: Aperture

Above: Setting moon. From memory, I took this shot handheld @ 200mm. I’ve cropped in quite a bit here so the moon wasn’t lost in the frame. This shot has had the most work done on it in post. It took a bit to remove the noise from the sky, plus, I’ve sharpened the moon a fair bit – you could clearly notice that it was quite ‘soft’ owing to the fact it was shot at 1/100 sec.

Above: There’s something quite soothing about watching the first sunrise surfers. They did a lot of bobbing around that morning as the swell was pretty flat.

Above: I dragged the shutter here at 1/5 sec. I was actually really happy with how this turned out. Yes, you can call me strange.

Above: Back to the trusty EF 24-105L lens here. Originally, this shot was taken in Landscape orientation but I think it works much better like this.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Distan…. THese shots are AMAZING!!!! I love it (especially also the blurry one!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) …. Great processing!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Xandre. I was fortunate with the light that morning. I haven’t done terribly much to the photos of the surfers. Just a click or two of saturation, vibrancy, sharpening and a standard vignette. I played the most with the crop tool since it just seemed like I wasnt framing anything properly that morning.

      Like

  2. Linh Cao says:

    these are amzing dude !

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thank you very much. So nice of you to stop by too. Much appreciated.

      Like

  3. Mike says:

    I particularly like the abstract surfer – nice one.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Mike. You must almost be in Australia now too?! Hope the packing hasn’t/wasn’t been too horrible.

      Like

      1. Mike says:

        Just 3 weeks until we leave! I can’t believe how much unnecessary stuff we have accumulated over the years…

        Like

  4. drawandshoot says:

    Awesome Distan, I love the blurry one also, very effective.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Karen, sometimes these types of shots just ‘work’ and sometimes they just don’t. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has found it a little interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. StrangeLittleGirl Photography says:

    Gorgeous! Love the color of the sunrise shots

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks, much appreciated. I love how nature can just put on the most amazing show whenever she feels. It’s awesome.

      Like

  6. Bec says:

    Call me strange as well, but I loved the third pic!

    Like

  7. I like the silhouettes in the foreground. So many times we see just the sunset or sunrise. These tell a story. Not tomorrow but the following week I’ll have some photos on my blog. I think every Friday I’ll put up a photo. I am a canon and apple user.I found you from Karen’s website.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks for the lovely comments Carla. I wish I could say that I always tell a story and think deeply about how the shots are structured. As you can see, I also post my fair share of sunrise photo’s… Looking at other people’s blogs really helps inspire me to try and see and compose differently. Karen’s blog is certainly one of those [ http://drawandshoot.me/ ].
      I look forward to stopping by and checking out your Friday photo’s too.
      “Thumbs up” to a fellow Canon and Apple user ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s even more reason to visit your site! ;-).
      Appreciate you stopping by Carla.

      Like

  8. I’m a sucker for a sunset!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      I like sunsets too but because we are on the east coast, sunrises work better for me generally. Having said that, I’m not exactly renown for being an early riser….except when I’m taking photos ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Share your thoughts

