Gorgeous Balmoral beach on a rainy Sydney morning


I fell asleep on the lounge again yesterday only to be rudely awoken by the dog barking at shadows at 5.40am. Not one to waste an early morning opportunity, I thought I’d head down to Balmoral beach on Sydney’s lower north shore for a bit of a change. I had quickly checked the radar on my iPhone and saw that there was some rain coming but it didn’t look like it would reach me for about an hour or so. After stumbling around in the dark gathering my camera gear, I got down there at about 6.15am. Perfect.

If you haven’t been, Balmoral is just beautiful, period. Even with rain laden clouds, its hard to ignore how pretty it looks. Don’t just take my word for it – take a look at the first picture below. Isn’t that just a wee bit magical? I’d love to hear your thoughts; I certainly enjoyed taking them.

Canon 7D | Tripod & handheld | EF 24-105L | ISO 100 | Various shutter speeds (see if you can guess)

Above: ‘Rocky Point’ on Balmoral beach. Shot from the promenade. The sun peeked out from behind the clouds for this shot.

Above: It was low tide which made it easier to walk out onto the rock shelf on ‘Rocky Point’. I used a 3 stop ND filter here.

Above: Same location as the previous photo but looking in the other direction. I used the 9 stop ND Filter but it started to pelt down with rain halfway through the shot. I stood hunched over the camera trying to shield it from the rain for as long as I would dare. I didn’t quite get the exposure I was after but I was able to salvage it reasonably well in post. Needless to say; I got completely soaked…

I had to go dry myself after this so I found the nearest coffee shop and waited until the rain eased. The following shot was of this elegant woman walking her dog as I headed back to the car.

Any guesses at the exposure times for the middle two shots?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Love your first & third shot Distan… just gorgeous!!! Really does look magical!!! I’ll take a wild guess on the exposure time… based on your previous post that was 3-4minutes…. I’m going to guess about 6 minutes?? 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Hi Xandre, it was in fact 2 mins and 33 seconds. I was hoping to get to 4 minutes but the rain was just drenching everything (despite me trying to shield the camera with my body and keep out of frame). Thankfully it was just enough that I was able to bring up the exposure in post and salvage the image. I think the rain on the water helped with the image in the end. I would of had the craps if all I came away with was a damp camera : )

      Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    As always so gorgeous images Distan.

    Like

      1. drawandshoot says:

        Oh, bad grammar on my part! That should read “such gorgeous images…”

        Like

  3. Mike Moruzi says:

    I’m really liking shot #2. The colours and textures are really working for me.

    Like

Share your thoughts

