Bronte rockpool at Dusk


Last night I went back down to Bronte beach; this time armed with my new Hoya 9 stop filter. As has been typical of our summer this year, there was heavy cloud cover and brief rain spells. The tide was coming in and the sea’s were really quite rough. The surfers were enjoying 2-3 metre high wave sets.

These couple of shots were 3 and 4 minute exposures and have been processed through Photoshop and then finished in Aperture. I just love how long exposure shots just smooth everything out and make other things just disappear (ie. people). I think they came out reasonably well. I’m looking forward to using this new piece of kit some more.

Click on an image below to see them bigger; and thanks for stopping by! : )

Canon 7D | EF 24-105L | Tripod | Hoya ND 400 | ISO 100 | Exposures: 3-4 mins

Bronte rockpool & baths, looking south

Bronte rockpool, looking north

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve been working to accomplish this look myself, I love how the water looks like it’s swirling and misty, and I am partial to b&w. Gorgeous.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Amanda;I know how you feel. I too had been chasing this type of shot but found I just couldn’t get the exposure long enough to get the necessary misting. With the ND 400, I was able to get those exposure times last night.
      Thanks for dropping by and following me too.

      Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks so much; really appreciated. Thanks for visiting too : )

      Like

  2. Beautiful shots! I love the texture of the water!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Marie, too kind.

      Like

  3. Stunning shots Distan!!! Soooooo dreamy!!! 🙂 **

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Xandre, that means a lot. I want to find a pretty little waterfall now! : )

      Like

  4. Bec says:

    Lovely work

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Bec. I’m keen to try it out again – this time without the rain. Which, incidentally, happened to me this morning.

      Like

  5. bllparkfrank says:

    The second one is my favorite. I like that you went with b/w, I think it makes it look really awesome.

    Like

    1. bllparkfrank says:

      I just realized that every time I comment on your blog I say “my favorite” somehow….they’re all great Distan. All good. All favorites. Just thought I’d let you know 😀

      Like

      1. Distan Bach says:

        Haha! Funny. I just realised that I tend to write “I love this shot” (and every derivative) far too much and others’ blogs too. So, no worries, Alex – I never noticed. I just appreciate the fact that you even take the time to post. Thanks heaps.

        Like

  6. Mike Moruzi says:

    Beautiful! I keep meaning to put my hands on a serious ND filter. I don’t live anywhere near water these days so it hasn’t been a priority, but I plan to be back in Melbourne come Spring so I’ll have to get one by then!

    Like

Share your thoughts

