Welcome 2012! How my new years morning started


After I finished posting last nights NYE fireworks display (see previous post), I said I had made a promise to myself to try and get up and shoot the first rays of sun for 2012. I didn’t get to bed until 4.10am this morning and had gingerly set my alarm for 5.10am (I know, I probably should of just stayed up). Do you think I managed to wake when my phone started to beep just 60 minutes after my head hit the pillow?

You betchya!!!

Here’s the sun rising over the baths at Bronte beach at 5.48am:

Despite the lack of interesting cloud cover, the sunrise was warm and summery. I again had to use two ND Grad filters to get a decent exposure and I think it has helped me capture a bit of how it felt.Β It was a stunning morning, made all the more memorable by the throngs of people down at the beach waiting to herald in the new year.

Sun worshipper ?

NYE party goers still on the go:

Some still have to work… but hey, what an office:

After taking these frames, I put down the camera and jumped into the pool for the first swim of the new year. It was a pleasant and refreshing 21C. Gorgeous!!! As has become a bit of tradition now; after my swim and shower I head over to Jenny’s cafe for a takeaway flat-white (coffee). To my surprise, Jenny gave me a loaf of Banana bread to take home for the family as well. It was generous and so unexpected – I couldn’t thank her enough. If this is any indication, I can’t help but think 2012 is going to be a great year.

Jenny’s Cafe:

Back home and getting ready to tuck into Jenny’s Banana bread:

Wherever you are, have a safe and enjoyable start to your new years. Best wishes for 2012 πŸ™‚

11 Comments Add yours

  1. My Lovely Bites says:

    Bronte, I love that beach! However, through your lenses, it looks 100 times better.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Sylvia. I grew up at Bronte so I think Im a bit biased, but it is my favourite city beach. Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    What a great start to the year Distan. Your pictorial essay of your morning is beautiful. Wishing you and your family a glorious 2012!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Hi Karen; thanks for the kind words. All the best to you and your family too. Here’s to 2012!

      Like

  3. Worth getting up for.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Most definitely! Sunrise is so invigorating – and I’ve never been a morning person (except for photo-taking) πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Mike says:

    A Happy New Year to you, Distan. We are looking forwards to starting our next New Year by the beach, instead of sheltering from freezing rain!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Mike; and to you and your family. I reckon it might feel a bit strange having a warm Christmas/New Years if you’re used to a cold festive season. Freezing rain doesn’t sound terribly enticing though πŸ™‚ Have you arrived in Australia yet? January and February are really quite warm and humid in Sydney.

      Like

      1. Mike says:

        I start my new job at the end of March, and if we have our house sold by then,my wife and son will be travelling with me. I showed your post to my wife, who went to uni in Sydney, and it brought back memories for her. She said Bronte was her favourite beach. She wants to take me to Shelley (have I spelled that correctly?) too.

        Please keep up the posting – every one gets us more excited about the move!

        Like

  5. xpodesignva says:

    I really enjoyed your post of the firs sunrise of 2012. It is visual enrichment! Thank you for showing me your part of the world and also Thank you for stopping by my blog.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks David, much appreciated.

      Like

Share your thoughts

