Sydney New Years Eve Fireworks


Well, Happy New Year everybody!!! Sydney has turned on another gorgeous evening for our harbour NYE fireworks display, and thankfully I was able to find a half-decent place to shoot from.

So, hear’s a few photo’s I took earlier this evening/morning – this time taken from the western side of the Harbour Bridge (near Lane Cove).

Time for bed now me thinks… I had told myself I would be up in 2 hours to welcome the first sunrise of 2012 at Bronte beach and to have a quick swim. Let’s see if I make it…..

All the best everyone! Wishing you all a safe and wonderful 2012!!!

(PS. Excuse the size of my watermark on these shots – don’t quite know they haven’t scaled properly).

Canon 7D | Manfrotto tripod | Canon EF 24-105 L | f6.3 | 4-8 sec exposures

6 Comments Add yours

  1. That was magnificent !!
    A little bit more than 6 hour before 2012, here …
    Happy new year !!

    Like

  2. Distan Bach says:

    Thanks Mathias. Sydney’s harbour is such a wonderful backdrop to the fireworks show. All the best for 2012!

    Like

  3. Mike Moruzi says:

    I really need to get to Sydney for New Year’s. Beautiful images!

    Like

  4. Dave Madivad says:

    Nice photos!! Great stuff… Now with young kids we don’t get to Sydney to watch them anymore. Ahh well, more for the young peeps these days. I would be interested in sharing a couple of your photos on a private blog, with full credit and link back to you. I hope you make it up for the swim. Good luck and all the best for 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dave Madivad says:

    I just realised once my comment was posted this was from YEARS ago… Still great photos at any rate. ROFL, I’m an idiot, don’t mind me…. 😀

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      That tickled my funny bone, Dave. Despite it being an old post, that’s exactly what I was planning to do again.
      I got stuck in traffic tonight and missed being able to cross the bridge before the road closures so I had to backtrack and grab a local spot which didn’t have great sight lines. Disappointing but, hey, it’s the start of 2016 now so I can’t wallow in self-pity. Onward into the new year!
      And, yes, here’s hoping I wake up in time to shoot the sunrise…
      All the best to you and your family!

      Like

Share your thoughts