Dreamy Bronte Beach Sunrise


Isn’t nature a funny thing? When I woke up on the lounge yesterday morning at 4.50am, I peered outside to find some nice high level cloud cover. The forecast had predicted that rain would be moving in later that morning and I thought this could potentially provide some great photo opportunities. I headed back down to my favourite city beach – Bronte – in the hope of capturing what I could already see in my minds eye.

Here’s the thing; the cloud cover was nothing like I’d hoped. It was dense and featureless near the horizon and allowed no opportunity for the sun to break through until a good hour after sunrise. Instead, what I was greeted with was this dreamy, slightly surreal glow. Don’t get me wrong, it was still beautiful; just not what I’d pre-visualised. And, that my friends, is what makes sunrise photography so interesting. After growing up on Bronte beach, and taking so many early morning shots down there in the last few years, Im constantly surprised how nature can make the same scene look soooo different.

Anyway, click on the images to see larger versions of them. And please, share with me which you one prefer – colour or B&W.

Canon 7D  |  ND Grad Filter  |  Manfrotto Tripod  |  2-4 second shutter @13mm  |  f16-18  |  ISO100

5 Comments Add yours

  1. drawandshoot says:

    These are dreamy. So beautiful Distan!

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks heaps Karen.

      Like

  2. Marion B. says:

    Hello, both are beautiful but I prefer B&W.

    Like

  3. Very nice sunsetpictures ! Colours and compositions are splendid !

    Like

  4. bllparkfrank says:

    I’m gonna have to say color (or colour if you prefer :D)…I really like the cyan in the water next to the purple of the sky. Beautiful.

    Like

Share your thoughts

