Sunday morning randoms


Its been a little while since I got up early to take some sunrise photo’s. So, last Sunday I set the alarm for 5.38am and headed off in the hope of catching some decent early morning light. Unfortunately, there wasn’t a cloud in the sky! Typical. I figured I would try to challenge myself to come back with something – anything – that would justify getting up so early on a Sunday morning.

First up, I headed down to Circular Quay on Sydney Harbour. Since moving house, I’d driven by a spot which I thought would be a great location to capture the Harbour Bridget, Ferries and the Opera House. No good – well, maybe not for sunrise. I think it’ll be better at dusk; I can pre-visualise it already… So, with the disappointment of my feeble harbour sunrise shoot fading, I was just about to leave when a group of cyclists whizzed by. They were followed by some more and within 15 minutes there had probably been close to a hundred ride past engaged in some fun-ride. Needless to say, I took the opportunity to practice some panning/motion blur shots. Much happier, I decided to go back down to Bronte and see what was happening at my favorite city beach. Truth be told, I really just love grabbing a coffee at one of the many wonderful cafe’s down there, reviewing the mornings photo’s whilst doing a bit of people watching. I guess its just my little indulgence, reward and motivator šŸ™‚

Incidentally, does anybody have their own little formula for locating and finding photography spots? While we’re at it, what motivates you to get out of bed before sunrise to capture that perfect sunrise?

Canon 7D | EFS 10-22 | EF 24-105L

2 Comments Add yours

  1. drawandshoot says:

    The steps into the pool is gorgeous! Love the colours and the light.

    Like

    1. Distan Bach says:

      Thanks Karen. The photo’s I took of the pool steps were my favourites of the morning. The sun’s light rays dancing on the floor of the pool just looked like arcing electricity. I tried different shutter and aperture settings but preferred the faster shot with greatest depth of field.

      Like

Share your thoughts

